Can anyone help cos sky are usless?

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by hirtag, Apr 8, 2005.

  1. hirtag

    hirtag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got back from two weeks holiday and was looking forward to watching all the stuff ive recorded over the break (Dr Who!). I noticed that the sky+ said only 2% left so i deleted a few things i didnt want and got it to about 30% left. I started recording but watching (and made it a series link) the amazon abyse program and it froze on me and nothing could get it to move.

    I called sky and 36 mins later they answered and said to turn off at the mains bla bla bla and everything would be ok. I told them that I could have don that myself and if i did so then this would cause all my recorded stuff to be deleted. He then asured me that it wouldent so i did what he told me and YES it was all deleted ........I went mad and asked to speek to a supervisor who told me that i probably had a fault with my unit and since i was out of the waranty time it was £65 for someone to come out to look at it?

    So can any one tell me ....
    1. Does it soun like a fault?

    2. If i fit a new hard drive of a larger size will the estimating of recording space left still tell me an acurate amount.

    3. Does anyone else think that sky a a big bunch of *$@@£**er's http://www.avforums.com/forums/newthread.php?do=newthread&f=48#
    spamand that its unfair that we have to put up with their monopoly.

    cheers
    grant kay
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    try a search all the info on upgraded disks is on the forum, and try "house keeping" from engineers menu again try a search
     
  3. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    1. Yes it sounds like a fault.
    2. A larger drive would give more space. The space will always only be an estimate, because of the way that recordings are stored on the drive.
    3. Sky is only a monopoly because the opposition has fallen by the wayside. There is nothing to stop you or anyone else forming a rival company, so it's not a monopoly.
     
  4. hirtag

    hirtag
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the information Nick and hornydragon i will replace with a new one soon.
    cheers
     
  5. Sick Boy

    Sick Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2003
    Messages:
    2,091
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +140

    I'm a bit confused about this. A friend of mine has a Pace sky + box (lucky :oops: ) and she unplugged it and lost all the recordings. Sky told her this will happen. I on the other hand have an Amstrad box :thumbsdow and have disconected many times and never lost any recordings.

    What should happen? Surely the hard drive shouldn't lose recordings. What if you have a powercut.
     
  6. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    I'm confused also. I have disconnected a few times and not lost anything.
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    That's the whole point of storing to a hard disk. You should not lose programmes (in theory). However, a "messy" power cut (one where there might have been a "spike" created during the disconnection) might cause the hard disk to get corrupted, but this is rare.
     
  8. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,928
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +876
    I don't know about the fault (not having Sky+) but I do know if you threaten to cancel your subscription, they will send out an engineer at no cost. I know this from personal experience.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  9. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unplugging from the mains is always the first thing to do with any problem like freezing,skipping or suchlike on Sky+.
    Recordings should only be deleted by performing a Full System Reset from the Installer Menu.Even a Planner Rebuild does not delete recordings
     
  10. tincan

    tincan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2002
    Messages:
    54
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Strood, Kent
    Ratings:
    +0
    In response to mjcairney I tried telling sky that I would cancel my subscription the last time I had a fault and they told my to go ahead. Sky plus has just gone up the wall (again) and just had to pay another £65 to get someone around. Expensive habit wathing TV!
     
  11. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    6,928
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +876
    I must have had a more sympathetic person when I did it because I was immediately passed on to another department and had a free engineer visit arranged within about five minutes.

    Cheers,

    Martin.
     
  12. Richard46

    Richard46
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2000
    Messages:
    1,796
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    London E7 UK
    Ratings:
    +120
    My opinion Of $ky is even less printable than yours; but if you are reffering to a monopoly on PVR's $ky+ does not have a monopoly. Yhere are a number of non-subscription Freview hard disk recorders out there now. Not the same number of channels but with time shifting capability do you need them?

    Regards Richard
     

Share This Page

Loading...