can any receiver do 120hz?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jinx5, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. jinx5

    jinx5
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Or any Hz in the matter?
    I have a pretty old receiver i picked up one boxing day for around 300 bucks. it's a onkyo HT-R380. wondering if it can do 120hz more or less via hdmi? Ill be hooking my PC to my receiver then to the monitor or tv(maybe do that overclock hz program)?
     
  2. PSM1

    PSM1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    26,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,440
    Do you mean in relation to the picture or a crossover setting for the sub?
    In terms of picture it is more about the resolution and most avr only support common TV resolutions so will not support all pc ones.
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013
  3. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,542
    120Hz is not a supported (secondary) HDMI 1.3 video timing for 1080p or above, so your receiver will not support it. Since 120Hz isn't supported, more also isn't, but of course it can do less, specifically 60Hz (US) or 50Hz (Europe).
     
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013
  4. jinx5

    jinx5
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It said on the box that it supports hdmi 1.4. It does however support actual resolutions since im using 1360×768 witch isn't technically 720p it a tiny bit more. close enough.
     
  5. jinx5

    jinx5
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2013
    Messages:
    27
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just wikied hdmi and it says that HDMI 1.4b supports it. I bought this receiver since it was a good deal, thinking it's hdmi 1.4 it will be grate in the future when i buy a better TV and so i can get a better experience wile playing games. I guess ill have to just hook the PC directly to the TV then. I have a feeling that that overclocking hack thing, if it does work won't be worth the effort anyways.
     
  6. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    10,045
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Zurich, CH
    Ratings:
    +1,542
    Even if a new HDMI version supports a specific resolution, you will need to check if the device you're interested in does. Audio devices do not typically support all permitted rates, but rather only those supported by A/V devices (specifically BD players).

    [Sorry for the typo "HDMI 1.3", I meant 1.4 as per your HT-R380 (but was sloppy with the a / b)].
     

Share This Page

Loading...