Question Can an av receiver be modified to use a detachable power cable?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jwall, Jul 3, 2015.

  1. jwall

    jwall
    Novice Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Pearl, MS
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently purchased the Onkyo TX-NR636 av receiver to run my surround sound setup. The power cable is not detachable.

    Is it possible to remove the cable and replace with one that is detachable? Are there any reasons not to? Where could I find a detachable power cable "kit" and what specs do I need to pay attention to?

    Thanks!
     
  2. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,610
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,230
    Last edited: Jul 3, 2015
  3. stephenbarnes

    stephenbarnes
    Banned

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2013
    Messages:
    4,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +846
    "Why do you need a detachable cable?"

    Because fixed cables are horrid if you're removing the amp, you need to de-tangle and pull the cable though. Or if you're swapping amps round.
     
  4. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,610
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,230
    Given the infrequency you'd ordinarily need to swop amplifiers then I'd not suggest it worth the effort. Most people leave their AV receiver connected to the same mains supply and in the same location for years on end. It would be easier for you to simply ensure the cables aren't allowed to get entangled than it would be to go to all the trouble of adapting your receiver. Plus the fact that this is only a feasible solution when dealing with another receiver or amp with the exact same cable inlet and the facility to accept a detachable power cable.
     
  5. simonlewis

    simonlewis
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2014
    Messages:
    4,705
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    stockport
    Ratings:
    +1,757
  6. julk

    julk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2015
    Messages:
    33
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Dalkeith (nr. Edinburgh)
    Ratings:
    +26
    +1 for this way to do it, except you should use a male IEC socket.
    Cheap, dead easy if you can wire a plug and lets you use a detachable power cable.
    The power cable has a female end (for safety) to plug into the male socket on the equipment.
    I have done it to most of my equipment which had a fixed power cable.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
    • List
  7. themovierooms

    themovierooms
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Messages:
    1,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    117
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +870
    I have seen it done but you will likley void any warranty if you encounter a problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...