1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Can 42PV500 record onto SD from Scart?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by steddyman, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. steddyman

    steddyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    I have the 42PV500 and it is a fantastic screen, especially with a chipped Xbox and XBMC.

    I have question which I can't seem to find the answer to anywhere. I want to record a program off Sky connected to AV4 (RGB Scart) to the SD card, but when I press the Record button it just completely ignores it. Same with the Component input selected, nothing.

    If I switch to the internal DVB tuner and press the record button then it works great. This seems a little restrictive to me, but I have never seen the question raised on these forums and I did search.

    What really has be confused about all of this is my friend at work has the 37PV500 and he can record off Sky into Scart fine. Whats going on?

    Also, can you record something that is not actually showing on the screen?

    Thanks
    steddy
     
  2. steddyman

    steddyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Anyone?

    BTW why is the heading of my post not in Bold like all the others?
     
  3. steddyman

    steddyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Please can somebody answer this problem for me?

    There are lots of PV500 owners on this forum that must have tried this.

    Thanks
    Steddy
     
  4. hs77

    hs77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Messages:
    56
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sd recording is from the internal tuners only, your mate is telling you porky pies.
     
  5. steddyman

    steddyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Actually my mate is not lying. He has brought recordings of Hex and other Sky One recordings in on his phone to show me.

    There IS some way to do this, on the 37" at least.
     
  6. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    Isn't Sky one on freeview too?
     
  7. steddyman

    steddyman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    448
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    No, Sky one is not on Freeview.

    Just called Panasonic helpline and was told the following.

    PV500 CAN record from Scart, but only from AV1. The record button will be ignored on all other connections. My sky box is on AV4 and my friends is on AV1!!!

    Steddy
     

Share This Page

Loading...