Camera upgrade advice please!?

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by bbqforce10, Jan 24, 2008.

1. bbqforce10

bbqforce10
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I've been using a Sony HC94e and whilst I've been fairly pleased with its performance there are some limitations with it that is making me think of upgrading to a more professional level camera.

I'm pretty new to the camcorder world so would appreciate any advice.

Ideally I want a camera that has an adjustable zoom speed, enabling me to do smooth zooms at a steady rate.

I also want to be able to do pull focus shots so would need a camera with easy to use manual focus controls, and I guess ideally with a focus ring on the lens.

I will be shooting a lot of interiors, and whilst sometimes I will use lights, other times they may need to be naturally lit (or with household lights on), so a camera that performs well in low (ish) light conditions would be good. The Sony that I have is showing its limitations here, with quite a lot of noise and lack of colour.

Wide angle lens - My Sony has a 45mm lens and I've been using it with a 0.6 converter giving 27mm....this is still a little narrow. I guess in an ideal world I'd like to be able to go to around 20mm.

Regarding format, I guess miniDV but am open to suggestions. I'm not particularly worried about HD at the moment but would it be worth getting an HD camera to future proof things? Especially if I ever wish to produce anything for broadcast. I've been told about the Panasonic cameras using P2 cards, and I think Sony and others offer memory stick / hard drive options...are these the way forward?

Apologies if I am asking a lot....but would really appreciate some guidance as there seem to be so many cameras out there!

Would be prepared to consider secondhand kit.

Budget is £1000- £2500 (ideally at the lower end to start with!)

Thanks

Adam

2. redsox_mark

redsox_mark