Camera for Building Surveying Work

Ellisium

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi All,

I'm looking at changing my current work camera which I have been using for the past 10 years. It is a Panasonic DMC-TZ3 and has been a decent camera given the constant use and was recommended on here at the time. Unfortunately it has started to show its age with the battery not holding charge, auto-focus and low light photo's not being great and sometimes errors with writing to the memory card.

Again, i'm looking for something which can be a bit of a workhorse with the below features being the most important:

• Decent Form Factor i.e. easy to hold/grasp and not so slim it could easily be dropped. It will be in my pocket so needs to be small enough not to interfere with crouching/climbing but also manageable enough to use with one hand. My Panasonic DMC-TZ3 has been great here.

• Low Light Conditions - to preserve the battery on my camera I usually switch the flash off and this is also important in buildings where people are working as it can draw attention. My current photo's appear to be grainy under these conditions.

• Photo Speed - I'm not sure if this is a feature but taking a quick photo which is in focus would be essential. Depending on the building size, I could be taking anywhere from 150 - 400 photo's so a simple saving of 1 or 2 seconds per image soon adds up.

• Zoom - a decent zoom is preferred as sometimes access is not always the best in the buildings e.g. viewing air-conditioning units, large warehouse heaters etc. This is not essential however as I presume the zoom on many of the cameras out there now would be sufficient.

• Battery Life - again, I presume most cameras out there now carry enough battery life where the memory card would probably become full first before the battery runs out but I need to ensure this is the case.