Camcorder with microphone input

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by tdenson, Nov 28, 2010.

  1. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
    I'm looking for a relatively cheap HD camcorder that records to SD cards and has an external audio line in (from a sounddesk). Microphone sockets on camcorders seem to be a thing of the past. Can anyone suggest one please ?
     
  2. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    Depends on what you mean by cheap
    The non HD Canon FS100/200 have it but most HD models which do are not the entry level ones
    This is a very good camcorder which is IMHO VFM not only beacase it also has a mic input
     
  3. rogs

    rogs
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    2,387
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Dorset
    Ratings:
    +383
    You need to be aware that most 'line level' outputs from sound desks do not match well with camcorder mic inputs. Microphone inputs can be up to 1000 times (60dB) more sensitive than 'line' level inputs, and this is mismatch is further compounded by the AGC (automatic gain control) found on most consumer camcorder audio inputs.

    In short, unless you choose a camcorder that has an external audio input with adjustable input gain, you're likely to get very disappointing results from a sound desk input, with every likelihood of serious overloading, and distortion.

    Much better to consider recording the sound desk audio separately, with a minidisc or solid state audio recorder, and mixing this audio with the camcorder audio in your editor. Bit more fiddly to get the balance and sync right, but the end result should be considerably better.

    Also gives you the chance (if you want) to include a bit of the ambience of the room, from the camcorder mic audio, rather than just recording the sound desk input 'dry' directly into the camcorder, with no ambient recording at all.
     
  4. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
    Ah, are you saying that there are techniques for syncing two audio tracks from the same original source, because that sounds interesting. Incidentally, I am using Macs.
    Just to rewind this a little, what I really want to do is feed separate audio and video streams into a single box that contains a hard disk and a USB connection for transferring the result onto a computer, but I've not come across such a thing.
     
  5. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    In software yes , if it has multi track editing ( all but the most basic do)
    but it makes sense to use the original mic source even if you lower it in PP .. you can of course get an ext mic
    Also there is always a slight possibility of AV out of synch which may need correction
     
  6. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
    Trouble is I'm not interested in anything that has any manual intervention. The context for this by the way is in a church where we record the service every week. I just want to be able to press a button at the end of the service and end up with a usable video at some point on the Mac hard disk. I was actually doing this successfully using an Elgato EyeTV. Trouble is it just broke and also I wasn't too happy with the quality of the video it was producing (just a result of the fact that I was going via composite video). So I'm looking for a new solution but it has to be 'set and forget'.
     
  7. senu

    senu
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Messages:
    19,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Denham, South Bucks
    Ratings:
    +2,811
    I understand but relatively cheap, HD with line inout just dont sit inthe same camcorder comfortably
    THIS is an excellent camcorder but it isnt cheap and this addition to enable line input costs a bit more but for a one off purchase it is very hard to beat
    Costs a bit less HERE
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
  8. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
    There is another practical reason why I think I might prefer to record the video/audio to a stand alone box rather than in the camera is that the camera is mounted on a remote Tilt/Pan mount and I need a step ladder to remove the SD card from the camera.
    I am looking at things like the Hauppauge HD PVR, although I can't immediately see from this description whether I can get access to the recorded files -http://www.amazon.co.uk/Hauppauge-HD-PVR-adapter-Hi-Speed/dp/B001GN6OTG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1290989710&sr=8-2

    I will investigate further.
     
  9. tdenson

    tdenson
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,545
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +51
    I now understand the Hauppauge device, and as a result have ordered one.
     

Share This Page

Loading...