• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Camcorder image sensor/quality question

blondie81

Novice Member
I am looking to buy a HD camcorder and I obviously want the best image quality possible without breaking the bank. Looking at the latest Panasonic range, here are my options with amazon prices:

HC-V160 - £129
HC-V270 - £167
HC-W570 - £265

Now I am lead to believe that paying more would mean I get better image quality, but reading the specs, all of these cameras appear to use the same 1/5.8-type BSI MOS Sensor.

The number of added features with each camera definitely goes along with the price, but I ask, would it be fair to say I would be getting exactly the same video quality with the cheapest camera as I would with the most expensive? just less features?

I am a noob when it comes to camcorders so any advice is most appreciated, thanks.

rogs

Prominent Member
...would it be fair to say I would be getting exactly the same video quality with the cheapest camera

No, not quite.
Although as you have noticed the sensor sizes are all the same, there are a couple of other items in the spec. which make an important difference....

--The 270 and the 570 both have Optical image stabilization (O.I.S) as opposed to the 160 which uses electronic stabilization (E.I.S) That's a big difference

--The 270 and the 570 both have full 1080/50p 28Mbps as their highest quality option. The 160 only has 1080i. Again, another big difference.

The other items - like the sub camera in the 570 - are more likely to be seen as gimmicks.

I reckon the 270 is the best of those 3, value wise.

blondie81

Novice Member
No, not quite.
Although as you have noticed the sensor sizes are all the same, there are a couple of other items in the spec. which make an important difference....