Camcorder HELP Newbie

Cliffhanger79

Standard Member
Reaction score
Good Afternoon,

My name is Paul Cliff I work for a Forging company in the West Midlands.

I have been tasked with videoing the forging operations so we can later view them when the job is repeated.

We haven’t used any current camcorders but using the camera on video mode has suffice.

The problem is the forging process is to bright and hot and unfortunately it videos a bright blurr so it impossible to capture the particular methods for viewing at a later stage.

I have never used video camcorders before so what sort of camcorder would I need and how much are we talking, also would I need some sort of filter for it so I could film bright metal forming.

If you goto this link Brockhouse - Forgings

you can see the process via youtube, from the video you can see a bright blurr around the metal, unfortunately this video was done by the local newspaper and their camera equipment would cost a fair bit I'd say.

Any recommendations on camcorders and filters?

Any help would be most appreciated as I new to the filming world?

Thanks

Cliffhanger79:lesson::confused::lease:

Welcome. This is probably yr boss thinking he can "Do " a website video that will pull-in orders.
Sadly, the high temperature will upset the sensor and you'll need manual override.

I wonder that you shouldn't ask a local friendly videographer to quote. That way you're using quality gear and much expertise. (You wouldn't expect your customers to do their own forging, would you?)

Unfortunately you will need to learn how to use the (whatever) camcorder, then editing and so on - this is not a short-term job..... and extra cost spring up everywhere.

However, before further ado - what's the Budget for this video-project?
That's Camcorder, accessories, decent tripod with fluid head, some Lighting, reflectors and maybe a ND filter. You may need to protect the camcorder from the ambient heat, too.