Cambridge DVD79 vs DVD89

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by matage, Mar 21, 2006.

1. matage

matage

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    My original compact system finally gave up on me and I thought go for something a bit more sustainable, so I thought it would be wise to ask for advice.

I've been looking at the Cambridge Azur series and have more or less decided on the 540Rv2 once it arrives in Silver over here (in a few weeks). However the DVD is giving me a bit of a headache.

I'm planning on using this setup for both music (from metal to electronica and opera) and movies with an existing Mordaunt Short Premiere speaker setup.

I've been looking at the DVD79 but seeing as the DVD89 is soon available over here as well, I'm hesitant on which one to buy.

As the complete newbie that I am to the world of home cinema and audio, I've read up on whatever I can find online and there seems to be a big fuzz about the 89 not having the Faroudja chip of the 79 (which I understand is a desireable chip to have). So far I do not have a HD-display, but will be running my 32 widescreen 50hz CRT, but naturally I'm hoping to upgrade to a 32 or 37 LCD within a year.

So my question is really: Does make sense for me to wait for the DVD89, or is the 79 just as good a buy?

Anyone got any pros and cons for these players, or should I simply go with the "newer=better"-approach?

Many Thanks

2. Anny

Anny

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  3. matage

matage

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but all I can find at RS are their own reviews, and (especially considering they are the sole source of CA in the UK) I prefer to take that kind of information with a grain of salt ;)