Cambridge Azur 540R how to connect?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by 999dom999, Aug 11, 2005.

1. 999dom999

999dom999
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi ok Im totally new to this but looking at getting a home cinema set up. Connecting up is something I'm not sure on.

I am blown away by the Panasonic TH42PV500 I have seen in Dixons and John Lewis, playing normal dvd and HD, this is the one for me.

Due to that being so much (not buying it from either of those shops btw :) )
    I have to spend less on the sound for the moment, so I'm looking at the Cambridge Azur 540R from Richer sounds and the Tannoy FX5.1 speakers, read reviews both seem pretty good.

I have a dvd player with every connector imaginable on the back, a PVR soon to get probably Inverto - IDL-7000T and a vcr, and a pc. but don't worry about the last 2 not that bothered about them.

I see that the Azur 540r has video inputs I had assumed that these receivers were just for audio, so do I connect everything into the 540r then a single connection to the plasma?

So my question is what type of connections (audio and video) do I use between the 540r and plasma and which to the dvd and pvr? Also which connections on the back of the 540r do I use for the speakers and sub? With this setup how should the 540r be set?

Thanks for any help and any advise on the kit I have chosen?
    :thumbsup:

2. 999dom999

999dom999
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    anyone?

3. chedmaster

chedmaster

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +28
    First of all the Azur doesn't upconvert (i.e. change any type of video signal to any other eg s-video to component). In my experience it also struggles with progressive scan signals, not enough bandwidth I think.
    This isn't really a problem for you because you will only have one component source (DVD).