1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cambridge Audio and Speakers/ Hifi question

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by call me al, Aug 31, 2005.

1. call me al

call me al

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,
    I'm relatively new in joining but have used this site to great effect on previous purchases so thanks to all contributors!
    Basically I want a hi-fi. Problem is most these days look like chunky nonsense and the ones that look good sound paper thin(denon-dm35dab for eg).
    Can anyone recommend a decent one for around 500 squids?
    Failing that I'll have to go down the separates route, a path I am not to keen to travel as it can be an expensive one. Also I intrinsically don't like the design of most separates. Surely a CD player shouldn't be the same size as my video?
    I digress.
    Basically I am looking at Cambridge Audio azure 340c or 640c. Is there a great difference? Or just a big one? ANd what would you recommend in the way of speakers for such items? Celestion m10? tannoy m2.5's? mission m70's? Anything from richersounds really.

Sorry if i've not been clear or anything. My dinner's ready.
    Thanks in advance for any help, guidance or advice.

al

2. sdb123

sdb123
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,222
    Hi Al,

First of all, welcome :hiya: !

If I were looking at separates for that money I'd look at Rotels. You could pick up 2nd hand RCD-01/RA-02 & speakers for under £500.

If you prefer an all in one system, I have a TEAC Reference 300 MKII system available in the classifieds, also a pair of Castle Richmond 3 speakers...all within your budget.

To my ears this system is just as good, if not better than 'entry-level' separates.

Best of luck in your quest anyway.

Steve :)

3. call me al

call me al

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted: