Calling Sony 940 owners

P

paiger

I have just got one of these and while very pleased with it I have a problem with the AFD Soundfield. The manual says it is supposed to detect the format of the input but all I get is two channels from my TV, video and ONdigital box. I have tried a variety of different connectors and all channels but it never detects prologic. Any answers for this? I don't think I am missing anything. I have yet to try digital inputs and have only used phone leads.

All help gratefully recieved,

Steve

I have little experience of Sony's (never actually owning one) but can advise that no hardware (that i know of) will detect "Pro-Logic". In laymans terms Dolby Pro-Logic is quite a simple (by some of today' alternatives) Decode process that can be applied to any (more commonly) analogue 2 channel (even if a split mono) signal. To operate correctly it requires a purpose designed matrix encoded 2 channel (L+R) STEREO signal, it will however attempt to "do it's thing" with ANY non-encoded signal with phase shifted imformation present. So your amp never SEE'S Pro-logic but APLLIES Pro-logic. This (Pro-Logic) is the common default for most AV amps.

Regards

SteveEX

Thanks for that, it says in the manual that if you put a prologic signal through it, it will pick it up. I dunno. I play videos and they come out in 2 channel only. I have to switch to Surround mode to get full sound.

I'm getting a DVD player tommorow so I'll try that, see if it can see the DD signal.

S

A stereo signal is always a pro-logic signal: if you are hearing sound from left and right speakers, and nothing *ever* from the rear then you probably don't have a stereo signal. You have a mono signal fed to both left and right. Check for crossed connectors or a dodgy old scart that may join left and right together somewhere.