1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Calling electronics experts ...

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by MarkHudds, Jun 17, 2004.

1. MarkHudds

MarkHudds

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm a complete novice when it comes to basic electronics so go easy with me!

I've got a 12v DC fan that I'm running from a mains power adaptor. I'd like to stop and start the fan via the 12v trigger socket on my projector however I'm not sure what I need!

The projector supplies 12v when on and then 0v when off (not enough amps to actually power the fan directly though), so I just need something which can detect the 12v or 0v and switch the mains adaptors 12v power on/off to the fan.

Some quick 'googling' brought back results including 'relays'? Is this what I need?

Any help very much appreciated!

Cheers

2. mister_choos

mister_choos

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    You do indeed need a relay. A 12V single pole double throw (SPDT) relay. This is basically an electrically operated switch. You need to buy one where the switch contacts are able to handle the fan current (most will manage that easily) and one where the 12v from your projector is able to drive the relay coil. If you give me the details of the fan and 12V projector supply, I will happily source one for you if you don't feel confident enough yourself.

3. MarkHudds

MarkHudds

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    mister_choos - thanks for the reply!

Here's the details:
    Projector 12v trigger: Power on: DC 12V (4.7 kohm output impedance) Power off: 0V

Fan: 12V 0.07A - 0.09A

If you can give me an idea of what relay I should be getting that'd be great!

Also, do you know where I'd getting a simple wiring diagram?

Thanks a lot!

4. mister_choos

mister_choos

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0