1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

calling all Sony KV36FS76 owners please

Discussion in 'TVs' started by MackemX, May 6, 2003.

  1. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need to know whether the Ignore Errors is ON or OFF by default with the KV36FS76

    to remind you how to get into Service Menu, turn off TV by main button
    press and hold the Prog up & Prog down buttons on top of TV and push the power button in holding the 2 channel buttons until you see TT on the TV

    press Menu twice to get to Service Menu

    then select Monitoring then Error Monitor and it will show what it is set to

    cheers
     
  2. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Been playing ;)

    I think from memory its ON, but ill check for you tomorrow.


    Is it possible to set convergence perfect on the FS76? If you look very closely at white text in teletext do you see other colours around the edges? Ive been messing for about 3 hours but its very difficult using only the ntl menus. Must get a DVD player and THX disc!

    Plus do you hear any burbling interference through the left speaker at 2 bars volume? Its not the hiss I'm on about. Its only coming through the left middle speaker.
     
  3. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    surely someone has this TV?

    please help :)
     
  5. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    This is how it looks:

    Ignore Errors OFF ON OFF

    The orange is a continuous yellow bar BTW.
     
  6. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers :)

    I've just been to Curry's to find out

    panicking a bit, mine was ON, but I'm sure it was off

    Thanks
     
  7. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    I doubt it matters since all it does is build up a log of errors below.

    Can anyone answer my convergence and speaker question?
     
  8. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    WSH, have you not got a TV out on your PC?

    you can create your own Template

    purple dots/lines on a black background shows up any weak spots

    that's what I used to show TV guy cos during normal viewing it's hard to see from a distance

    do you have a dvd or cd burner?

    I could create a VCD or DVD and email you it use if you want
     
  9. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    take all your scarts out and see if you still hear the noise

    I posted this in another thread
     
  10. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    That would be great thanks. I could attach the PC by SVHS lead, so I only need JPEGs.

    wshirst@postmaster.co.uk

    So were you unable to fix it with the menus, so you called a repair guy?
     
  11. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Its not the scarts since I have pulled everything out inc. RF in and turned off all the other plug sockets behind. Its like a burbling sound only from the left mid range speaker. Its there on both AV and normal channels.
     
  12. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'lll email them ASAP, got stuff to do cos they are coming within the hour

    I could have adjusted it but I wanted them to do it, but JL are just replacing the damn thing instead of fine tuning it!

    don't matter anyway cos my 2nd tuner had interference and the AV channels also suffered from interference on darker scenes more than other TV's I've seen
     
  13. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    The second tuner you say had interference. Do you mean you get wavy lines in the right hand side box in picture in picture? If you do, all three sets I had wavy lines.
     
  14. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yep thats them, wavy lines on the 2nd tuner when you do PAP

    just got new set setup and it's AWESOME!

    absolutely perfect :clap:

    stuck Ultimate DVD on, and my PC TV out purple gridlines and it's absolutely brilliant

    what an improvement :D

    even the 2nd tuner does not have the wavy lines, just like the one in Currys didnt

    Sky isn't as blocky either!

    why couldn't it be like that in the first place?

    there is the slightest of slight convergence out in a 5cm section on the top middle but I'm talking microns and nothing that is noticable unless you sit with your nose on the screen with the testpage on, but I gues that's be very picky

    hopefully now I've got the one to last

    happiness at last
    :smashin:
     
  15. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    I connected the pc to the tv and it had the wrong resolution or refresh rate. It had lots of wavy lines. I had the wavy lines on the screen for maybe 20 seconds. I have read up that I could have damaged the TV. Oh dear.
     
  16. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what resolution did you output at

    my card only allows 2,

    800x600
    1024x768 (which I use)

    I've sent those pics, have fun :)
     
  17. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    1024x768, 110Hz not 60Hz as it should be.
     
  18. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    Thanks fr the email. So does you new set have good convergence at the corners of the screen?
     
  19. MackemX

    MackemX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    175
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    nope, it's just about perfect and absolutely brilliant compared to other one

    gives a much sharper picture in the corners with things like small text etc

    chuffed I complained now cos I was worried at getting a naffy set, but this one seems a lot better

    have you tried yours yet?

    I was gonna make a simple mini DVD for people, of around 500kb to burn on a CD that has a few more test screens I used, so they could check their sets using the DVD player instead of PC, cos the DVD fills the screen whereas PC don't
     
  20. WSH

    WSH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2002
    Messages:
    997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +39
    The sides are blurred and top right convergence cannot be fixed. Bottom right is fine and left is out. I have spent 2 hours on it with only a slight improvement. This is our third set. I am feeling very depressed. What will JL say if I request a fourth?

    Could you look at white teletext for me and see if you see any colours around the white text in any part of the screen.

    In addition to your JPEGs, I found this program that has a test card in.
    ftp://sunsite.cnlab-switch.ch/mirror/winsite/win95/sysutil/testm-e.zip
     

Share This Page

Loading...