1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Calling all Pioneer 433MXE owners...

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Placebo2, Feb 18, 2003.

  1. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi guys!
    Just wondering if you could post your picture settings for sky and DVD on the Pioneer 433MXE plasma. Also, what mode are you guys using? I'm using mode 3 which has the least contrast, but has advantage of no digital articfacts.

    Cheers,
    John
     
  2. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    100 and odd people looked at this thread. C'mon MXE owners ;)

    What mode are you guys using?

    Cheers.
    John
     
  3. MattB

    MattB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex,UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mode 1
    Brightness +2
    Contrast -15
    Colour -3
    High Contrast On

    Brightness set using pluge pattern, rest by eye. Same settings $ky and DVD. $ky contrast LOW.

    What is Mode 3?! I have 1, 2, or Standard.
     
  4. saggio

    saggio
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    151
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +1
    Using the AVIA disk, I have set values in the Integrator Mode.
    In the User Mode all values are = 0

    CONTR: 134
    BRIGHT: 122
    COLOR: 136
    TINT: 130
    H.SHARP: 8
    V.SHARP: 8

    Note: all above values are nearly at default level, except the COLOR that is a bit higher.

    WHITE BALANCE: all defaults
    COLOR MODE: 1

    (again, what is Mode 3? I only have 1 and 2, ... and not Standard)

    Giorgio
     
  5. Placebo2

    Placebo2
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2002
    Messages:
    239
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Sorry guys! I'm using mode 2, there is no mode 3 :blush:

    Interesting that your using mode 1, I find it creates motion artifacts.

    Thanks for the replys though.

    Cheers,
    John
     
  6. MattB

    MattB
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2001
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Essex,UK
    Ratings:
    +1
    I started off using Mode 2 because it is supposed to be the most linear (read the technical manual for a better description of the modes than the user manual) but found that the whites would get crushed (collars on shirts disappear, etc.) when the contrast is pushed much above default.

    Mode 1 gives a nice punchy image with contrast at -10 to -15 depending on ambient light.

    Can't say I've noticed motion artifacts added by the plasma but there are plenty in some $ky channels! I plugged the digibox into my analogue CRT PC monitor (via a deinterlacer) a while ago - most channels look like a mediocre quality DivX movie!
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    Everyone’s settings are going to be different.

    Crushed whites. The crushing is caused by the digital video processing inside the plasma. Setting white point on plasma is hard. With a CRT device you can see when contrast is too high as the white’s bloom as each dot is over energised and expands. With a plasma display the dot of phosphor is encapsulated and cannot expand when over energised. So with a plasma it’s perfectly possible to turn up contrast and see no blooming or crushing of white detail. This doesn’t mean that contrast is correct or, more importantly, safe. With a high contrast like that you are just toasting the phosphor. Tricky business. My advice is that the ideal contrast will always be lower than factory default never higher

    Gordon
     
  8. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    1,985
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +132
    All my menu settings are at default. Integrator mode settings are what Gordon set them at when he calibrated my screen. And I'm not telling you what they are - you'll have to get the man himself along to do the biz.

    Well worth it - picture now is superb, ta Gordon.

    Actually Gordon I meant to ask you when you sat on my living room carpet, how much variation is there amongst 433 displays? My guess is they can differ quite a lot, so users posting their own settings must be of limited benefit. Or are they all identical off the production line?
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,981
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,785
    Well so far they don't seem to be all the same Philip. With some folks it's hard to get acurate tracking at MODE2 for gamma and greyscale. It can be better to adjust integrator mode settings for mode1 or normal as I have done for some folk. End results measure and look good.

    My own settings are at default as well funnily enough......but I use MODE2 and an HTPC. Glad you're happy.

    Gordon

    EDIT: The sources you use will affect the settings for accurate playback. Many DVD players nowadays have contrast and brightness controls which need set correctly to start while other have no adjustments but perhaps too hot a Y signal, or even a Pr signal....so there is always going to be varience between folks settings.
     
  10. DJP

    DJP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    72
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'd also recommend getting the screen calibrated by Gordon - great job, superb result.

    The problem is that the Pio stores different settings for each input source and each type of input to that source. So, for example, the settings for the contrast, brightness, etc when using the S-Video input will be different to those for the Component input. Similarly those for NTSC input may be different to those for PAL input.

    Looking at the interator menu settings after Gordon calibrated several of the inputs to my 433MXE I can see that there are similarities between the settings for the different inputs but they are not identical (deltas of up to 5 units). We shouldn't be suprised by this as the signals will take different paths though the internal workings of the Plasma and, of course, different amounts of decoding will be required depending on the type of input.

    I must admit that I've not seen any added artifacts between standard, mode 1 or mode 2. I'll have a closer look at this when/if I ever get time. Of course the problem is that the other modes won't have been calibrated by Gordon and so won't look as good anyway :laugh:

    Derek
     
  11. The Huss

    The Huss
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon

    You make a good point re the relationship between DVD and Plasma settings.

    I currently have a Tosh SD 900 married to a Pio 503 HDE and have for a while now considered " which end best to start". As you are probably aware the Tosh will allow all sorts of tweaking of contrast, brightness, gamma, Y/C Time corrections etc.

    I chose in the end to leave these on their mid-settings preferring to tweak at the display end - the best I could.

    Results are fine IMO but there is always that nagging doubt that it could be better.

    Question is... from a specialist's perspective is the way I have chosen to configure the best approach or should I be looking a little more closely at the source?
     

Share This Page

Loading...