calling all NTL users!!!

Discussion in 'Cable TV & Virgin Media TV' started by Pooon, Apr 5, 2005.

  1. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    HELP. right i've got a mate who has NTL cable, he's got one of those boxes that sit under his TV that gets him his Tv and broadband. Follow me so far? Now he's just bought a Laptop and would like to connect to the net wirelessly(sic), how does he do this? i'm assuming he'll need a router? or a wireless access point? or what will he need. to be honest i've not really got a clue as all this NTL nonscence is all foreign to me so :lease: help.

    Recomendations appreciated(as are links) to what will be neeeded. Oh the laptop has wirelessness built in so he won't need a thingy for that.

    EDIT: its not a box that gets Tv as well, its just a STANDALONE CABLE MODEM.
     
  2. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,365
    Right, well, you've confused me right from the off. In your first sentence you say he gets his TV and broadband through the same box, and then your last (edited) sentence says its a standalone modem. So which is it? I'm going to assume you mean its a standalone, as thats the most recent edit.

    I have a standalone modem (as I don't use NTL for TV), and I connect this to a Linksys wireless router. Any wireless router will do though if he has another brand preference. Netgears do well too. All he needs to do is use the supplied cable to connect directly to the modem and Bob is your Uncle.

    That will do the job if he has a standalone, not had any experience with internet access through a set-top box though.
     
  3. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    I feel sorry for all you NTL users, their customer service phone line is just laughable, and i thought BT's was bad.

    Anyway is this what is needed, a BELKIN FSD7230uk4 Wireless Router?(sorry can't link) but i got the info from www.broadbandbuyer.co.uk
     
  4. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Nice one munkey, i knew you'd know.

    At the bottom of that link you posted there is a link to a D-Link router for £39 but @ work we sell that same router for £99!!!!!(get in!)
     
  5. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,789
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,955
    I have the same setup and it's easy to sort. He just needs a wireless router such as the Linksys BEFW11S4 for 802.11b or if he wants 802.11g (faster and good for transferring stuff over a network but doesn't improve gaming etc.) then there's the Linksys WRT54G .

    If his laptop has a built in NIC then he doesn't need anything else he should just be able to connect up. If it doesn't then he'll need a wireless network card (cost peanuts - about £15).

    Hope that helps.
    :thumbsup:
     
  6. DanTheMan_77

    DanTheMan_77
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on NTL too. "I pity the fool!"
    Munkey is right, do the above and he'll be cool. If he does have a set top box then the same will work. Any wirless router should do the trick.

    Cheers
    HARBINATOR
     
  7. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,789
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,955
    Aye you can't beat your employer for price that's for sure :D :rotfl: .
     
  8. Pooon

    Pooon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    7,127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Canterbury, Kent
    Ratings:
    +731
    Oh yes, the home of a great deal!
     
  9. Munkey Boy

    Munkey Boy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2003
    Messages:
    16,585
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +4,365
    I've just got to know who your employer is now...PM me if you don't want it publicised...
     
  10. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,789
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,955
    :D
     
  11. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,541
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +477
    what ?
    ive never had a problem getting through to ntl, and i never have to wait :p
    whats so bad about that ?
     
  12. CAS FAN

    CAS FAN
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    34,789
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    The Wheldon Road end!
    Ratings:
    +7,955
    NTL are much better these days I find. Going back a few years when I first got BB they were shocking! You waited over an hour at times to get through! :eek:

    I think they've got their act together well though and (touch laminated chipboard) i've had no problems with my excellent value connection. When I rang for my free upgrade they were very helpful and I got through after a short 3-4 min wait.
     

Share This Page

Loading...