Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Calling all MXE1 Owners

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by loonatic, Nov 8, 2004.

  1. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thinking of getting an MXE1, not sure if funds permit a 43" or 50" yet :rolleyes:

    Anyway...what do you guys think of yours ?

    My main issue with all plasma's is the annoying buzz they can/do make...have owned a Pio 433HDE and a Panny 50" PWD6 in the past...how does your MXE1 behave in this regard ?

    I would be feeding mine DVI via my Lumagen ProHDP with Sky+ being input as SDI with my Denon 3910 getting the same SDI treatment soon.

    Anyone had any problems or issues ?

    Would you buy the same thing again if you had the chance ?

    Cheers, Lee
     
  2. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    Picture is superb. Better than I was expecting. I have the contrast and brightness turned down at the moment so I know that after the first 200 hours I can tweak and improve this even further. The blacks are also better than I thought they would be and the colours are really vibrant. Even the other half was impressed (though did grumble about the size ;-))

    When fed via an upscaling DVD player or HTPC the dvd quality is wonderful. I'm using a freeview-style Digibox for tuner facilities and the pic is very good. I wasn't expecting a lot TBH since you read so many posts about poor quality TV - and I am feeding it into the plasma via S-video!

    My model has a very very slight buzz which I cannot hear the moment any sound is output (and I'm talking quiet TV-volume sound, not loud movie-volumes). Basically haven't given it a second though - it just impossible to hear unless your room is pin-drop silent and even then I doubt I could hear it unless I was up close.

    I went with the silver model to match the rest of my stuff and the finish is nice.

    If you're going SDI I would say that you'll be very happy.
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    It has to be said HDE's are the most consistently noisy units, and of course panasonic 50" have big power supplies and such. The 43MXE is to all intents and puropses silent in my experience. You are welcome to rest your ear on ours. Pioneer's quality control seems very consistent, they are all the same, you don't hear people complaining about them on here do you. Every other plasma in creation has somebody bitching about something or other, but not the MXE-1, it seems to have no enemies. With your setup and knowlege, I am quite certain your picture will be as near to perfect as possible, go for it.
     
  4. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks for the replies :smashin:

    Did you go for the 43" or 50" Mr Wilby ?

    Just a quick question, perhaps MAW you will know the answer to this one...does the MXE1 have discrete IR codes for power on and power off as the remote only has a toggle button ?

    Any other owners care to make a contribution :thumbsup:

    Cheers, Lee
     
  5. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Hi Lee, there are discretes available, pioneer haven't chnaged the codes in living memory, I got them from remotecentral.
     
  6. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I have the 50" and love every 1/8th of it ;-)
     
  7. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Discrete codes are one of the big advantages of going Pioneer IMO... Everything is covered...
     
  8. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Qualify that, going Pioneer MXE. This does not apply to HDE/XDE models.
     
  9. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    The 433/503HDE series didn't have discrete control, however the 434/504HDE series does... I don't know about the 435/505XDE series..?

    Xantech do an IR > RS232 converter which would solve the problem on the Panasonic panels (at a cost), although discretes may be available in the 7 series... Has anyone tried yet..?

    MXE series is certainly the best in this respect IMO...
     
  10. steverb

    steverb
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Messages:
    89
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have had my MXE1 43inch for about 3weeks and the picture is stunning (suppied by Joe). I use the Lumagen Vision HTP from a freeview box, not SDI, and have no complaints. Much better TV than I could have hoped. No noise from the screen that I can detect. Make sure your amp can adjust lip sync - the delay through the Lumagen is about 20ms.
     
  11. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Best display you can buy - simple as that.

    The fan on mine never comes on - so it is completely silent.
     
  12. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,093
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    Hi All,

    I am also looking at buying this screen and wondered what the best price for it is at the moment. Can anyone help?

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  13. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,039
    I had a boss in a previous life who said
    "a deal is only a deal when it's a deal".

    We all have a finite amount of money to spend but you should realise that a dealers worth only really comes in to play once you have bought. Who wants to get a great price and then have to spend hours scouring the internet for back up as the dealer is a box shifter. There are a far few dealers here who are a few quid more but who will save you time and trouble with their undoubted expertise. Read this forum for a while and see who POSTS....and you'll work it out.

    Gordon
     
  14. Mr. Wilby

    Mr. Wilby
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +16
    I would second what Gordon wrote above.

    I've had a lot of success with Joe Ferdinand from www.tmfsolutions.co.uk. Been dead helpful and posts on this site regularly.
     
  15. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    Back on the IR topic, there are workarounds for Panasonic, it's not that bad, and of course many folks will be buying one of Gordon's fine scalers, in which case you never switch inputs on the plasma, just set 1 as default, and 1 as picture in picture,and it's done for life. You only need on and off discretes. So it's a very straight choice between Panasonic and pioneer, and I'm genuinely not convinced in either direction. I would happily own either. In fact I am likely to end up with Panasonic, we have a demo MXE-1, so I will get the other. My business partner is an interior designer, and has to have silver to match her curtains or some such...
     
  16. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    MAW, wise words as always...
     
  17. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    MAW, wise words as always...

    Except - there's only one thing better than a Pioneer 43MXE1 and that's 2 Pioneer 43MXE1s :)

    Gordon is dead right as well of course.

    I have bought plasmas from AV-Sales and Joe, and you won't go wrong with either. Good prices and excellent back-up.

    Had my MXE1 long enough now that calibration is the next step. Gordon, are you coming south for the winter or should I contact a more local guy - I think someone in Bristol does it?
     
  18. creative-av

    creative-av
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,093
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +56
    All,

    Thanks for the replies. I agree that buying the product at the lowest price doesn't guarentee good service.

    However, reading thru some other posts on the forum there does seem to be a big difference in prices for this screen and as a newbie to the "Which Plasma should I buy" debate I was after some guidance.

    Cheers,

    Steve
     
  19. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Also worth mentioning that some of the low priced suppliers do not include the video board - you pay extra for that whereas Joe and AV-Sales include it. Also make sure the price quoted includes VAT.
     
  20. Sulis

    Sulis
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2004
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Bath
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah - Plasmapoint.co.uk are doing it for £2581 inc. VAT (no extra boards though)... Still rather get it from someone who'll look after me if it goes a bit pear-shaped...

    Also, philipb - do you know who does calibration in teh West (I live in Bath)?
     
  21. philipb

    philipb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,034
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Swindon
    Ratings:
    +149
    Sulis

    Can't remember, but I think he visits this forum. Gordon knows him I think - Gordon??
     
  22. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +411
    His name is Piers, Look him up in members list, and drop him an email, unless Gordon fancies another run south. You guys could co-ordinate, make his life easier.
     
  23. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    I'd also recommend the MXE-1, for all the reasons already stated, including great service from Joe at TMF. It looks great using an RGB-VGA converter, but if you can keep to an all-digital path, it is stunning.

    I tried using an early Lumagen HDP, but found it a bit troublesome. I know there have been many updates since then so its probably sorted out now. At the moment I use my HCPC for pretty much everything (TV, DVD & Xlobby Via Theatertek & some web browsing). I'm over the moon with its performance, and have not seen anything better.

    BTW Simon, I still haven't had a chance to try that judder tester! :blush:

    Rob.
     
  24. SimonO

    SimonO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    3,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Hertfordshire
    Ratings:
    +64
    Hello Rob, you read my mind... Still interested to hear how you get on...
     
  25. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,925
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    Thanks Rob...have you had any worries about screen burn at all whilst using the HCPC ?

    I remember hooking up my PC to my 433HDE when I had it for just a short while only to find the Start Menu/Taskbar still displayed when I changed input...turned out it was just a case of image persistance as opposed to actual screen burn but it did put me off using the PC with the HDE.

    The Panny I had for a while seemed much less prone to screen burn.

    I've got a fully functioning HTPC which I use with my PJ which is another reason I am thinking about the MXE1 due to it's FRC features.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  26. Rob

    Rob
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    1,285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +33
    Lee,

    I've not had any problems with screen burn , but as you say you can get image persistence, which soon disapears. I've only noticed it a couple of times with the "Cbeebies" logo, :rolleyes: not that I spend too long watching it of course.

    I was very concerned the first time it appeared, but extremely relieved when it was gone the next day, still I try not to leave it on one channel longer than necessary if a logo is used.

    Rob.
     
  27. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,201
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +3,039
    I was driving past yours two days ago. I'm back down end of month probably. Get in touch via email for dates.

    G
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice