1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Call Of Duty - XBox - major flaw in coding...beware.

Discussion in 'Xbox Forums' started by Family Guy, Dec 29, 2004.

  1. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now had 3 copies of call Of Duty on the XBox and all 3 froze at different and random times.
    Seems to be a major flaw with the coding on this particular title...beware.

    (BTW - none of my 10 or so other titles freeze - ever...)
     
  2. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Just got this but not tried it yet so I will report my findings. However my friend has had this title from launch and not reported this problem. He is quite far in the game.

    Didnt you have a problem with the laser on your XB ?
     
  3. hulkhead

    hulkhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    670
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +11
    i got this for xmas - have yet to play but will report back any issues should i get them
     
  4. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I thought I was having problems but it turned out to be a dodgy optical cable and a PS2 game...(don't ask...bloody spotty kids in blockies put the wrong disc in the box...)

    I had 3 different copies of this and each one of them froze at random points accompanied by a loud buzz...never got to finish the first level... :mad:

    I have not had another problem with any other disc
     
  5. LinkinRuss

    LinkinRuss
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    the only game that freezes on me is pro evo (sometimes)
     
  6. harrisuk

    harrisuk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    5,322
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    Well been playing mine for a few hours tonight and no problems at all. I would have thought there would have been talk of this on the forums if it was a problem with the game. Maybe a batch of bad discs ?

    Mine seems fine and so is my mates.
     
  7. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's been one or two reports of PS2 copies being knackered...
     
  8. chukkychukky

    chukkychukky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Just bought a copy today before reading this forum, but have played it three times and has crashed each time!

    Got my Xbox last week too (second hand), is it the console or the game?

    Other games (Halo, Rallisport Challenge 2) have been ok so far
     
  9. Family Guy

    Family Guy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where did it crash? All 3 of my copies crashed on the "Flag Must Fall" level, just as you start up the hill to take out the first turret. Of course, Game know nothing about it...but to their credit, they did change it for Fable and give me a credit note for the rest...
     
  10. chukkychukky

    chukkychukky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yes! Mine crashes at exactly the same place, just advancing up the hill and it makes this loud buzzing noise. Typical Microsoft.
    Bought the game from PC World, hope they are as receptive as GAME. Really like the game though, not sure if I should try another copy and get a lens cleaner or go for another game altogether.......
     
  11. chukkychukky

    chukkychukky
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    My rpelacement copy crashes too on the same level, can no longer be arsed. Will get a refund and get Rainbow Six 3 for a tenner instead! :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...