Call of Duty patch probs

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by Canary_Jules, Apr 27, 2004.

  1. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Just installed Call of Duty Patch 1.4 and keep getting blue screen of death. I can play for anything between 5 and 20 minutes ok but then PC freezes on a blue screen and I have to hard reboot. I've updated to the latest Catalyst drivers to no avail. Any one else had problems with this?

    Cheers

    Jules
     
  2. Hawklord

    Hawklord
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,572
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +313
    Try un checking the vpu recovery box in the settings menu for your display configs or disabling fast writes. That works for a lot of people:)
     
  3. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    Cheers Hawklord. I tried that with no success. Activision support just scratch their heads when I call their tech support. It's so frustrating. I played COD perfectly well with the 1.1 patch and then got bored with the maps so I stopped playing for a while. Now that I want to play the new maps with patch 1.4 I keep getting blue screens.

    Activision are now suggesting switching off my Norton while playing.

    Jules
     
  4. Mr Screen

    Mr Screen
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    North London
    Ratings:
    +0
    i had the same problem but it was my computer that was playing up i just reinstalled windows and then it worked after that.
     
  5. Canary_Jules

    Canary_Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2003
    Messages:
    3,432
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    Ratings:
    +1,040
    I have given up. Both single and multiplayer keep blue screening. Activision don't seem to have a clue and besides it seems that I have tried every remedy on every forum. Shame, I played the game endlessly with the 1.1 patch with rock solid reliability. I changed my motherboard and chip and now it refuses to work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice