1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Caliration using a colorvision spyder?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by owain_thomas, Apr 29, 2005.

  1. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    I have recently bought one of these to calibrate my office PC's TFT so I can make a better job of colour correcting my digital pictures. It's very easy to use and it seems to me that it might be useful for calibrating a plasma, does any one have any thoughts on this (especially ISF guys, though I doubt it would be upto that sort of level, would it?). Has anyone actually used one for this purpose?

    owain
     
  2. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    Now this could be interesting - does it come with something to display on screen while analysing???

    Lawrenso
     
  3. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    yeah, exactly that, the spyder hangs over the top of the monitor and has a sensor on its "belly". this takes repeated readings over about 20-30minutes of the large coloured box which is displayed onscreen. This box changes colour through the calibration. Its all fully automatic and gives you a colour profile for your monitor. at the end of calibration you can toggle between before and after.
     
  4. loonatic

    loonatic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2003
    Messages:
    1,877
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    Springwell Village, Gateshead
    Ratings:
    +16
    One problem I can see is that it would not take into account the source.

    Normally the test patterns are provided by the source DVD player therefore you are calibrating the source to the display.

    Cheers, Lee
     
  5. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    good point loonatic, sorry should have been more specific in my first post, I really meant this to be to do with using this device in conjunction with an HCPC, that way the PC that does the calibrating is the eventual source as well as the calibration device.
     
  6. Rahmorak

    Rahmorak
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    450
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Lake District
    Ratings:
    +10
    I have considered using one of these, and to be honest in conjuntion with a HTPC I don't see why it shouldnt give reasonable results.
     
  7. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    Hi Owain

    if you fancy having a go on a Plasma - I have got an LG you can give a go on - give us a shout - as you are in Manchester, I could even give you a lift - I would definately be interested in seeing this in action for things that I am planning in the future

    Cheers

    Lawrenso
     
  8. owain_thomas

    owain_thomas
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Manchester, England
    Ratings:
    +81
    hi lawrenso,

    cheers for the offer mate :thumbsup:

    Are you using an HCPC at the moment? I see from your sig that you have a denon dvd player. The trouble is that the way this product works is to install an ICC profile on your PC, this then alters the output of your PC's graphics card, you often don't make any adjustments to the plasma itself.

    Let me know,
    owain
     
  9. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
  10. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    It sounds very interesting to me coz here in Cyprus we haven t any ISF technicians.
    I will definitely buy this product when it comes out.

    I have some questions about ISF calibration.
    People say that calibration is based on room lightning.
    This sounds weird to me coz the room lightning varies "From dawn till dusk" :)
    I mean if piers or gordon come to your house and calibrate your tv at 5 pm
    then your tv will be astonishing every 5 pm and the rest hours of the day will suck?:confused:

    I know this sounds stupid but I ain t got a clue about calibration.
     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    Not at all. Mine's been calibrated by Gordon and was done in a dark room. Whilst it looks at it's best under those conditions it certainly doesn't suck at any other time of the day. Only thing you tend to lose is shadow detail in the dark parts of the image when watching in daylight. I can quite happily watch mine at anytime of the day without having to adjust anything. There's also no reason why you couldn't use a different memory setting on the plasma for daytime viewing if you wanted as most have picture modes you can change. :)
     
  12. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Then the calibration is being made in the dark.

    Ooohhh
    And another thing
    Does this Spydertv product work on all inputs?
    Dvd, satellite, aerial?
     
  13. MJS

    MJS
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2002
    Messages:
    34
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    These colour calibrations products only work for PCs in conjunction with your operating system. They make a colour profile that is loaded by Windows, OS X, whatever (actually that's about it). Some do offer you the chance to set the correct white colour temperature and black levels on the monitor, but rely on the computer's OS to do the rest. Whilst this ought to work perfecty well for an HTPC, it won't work for DVD or TV sources for example.
    By the way, when you make monitor calibrations using these devices, you try and do it in the dark or with the sensor covered because any stray light will throw the calibration out.
    Mark.
     
  14. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Also arent Monitors calibrated to D8000? Video should be D6500
     
  15. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    I m not talking about the other pc monitor calibration products.
    I m talking about this new spydertv product which is designed for plasmas lcds and rear projections.
    You can find more information in this pdf document

    http://www.datacolor.com/downloads/broch_spydertv.pdf

    But I can t find any information whether it works for all inputs
     
  16. Leerock

    Leerock
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2004
    Messages:
    273
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone???
     
  17. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    It uses your DVD player as the source so there's no reason why you can't calibrate for various signal formats such as RGB, Component, S-Video etc as long as the player has them all. In conjunction with using preset modes on the display you could set up several inputs. :)
     
  18. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,591
    Hello all

    Mods - there are two pretty similar Threads on this subject; possibly you can Merge them so we only need to Update one Thread as new info on this product comes through.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  19. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    thats fine in theory, but assumes the output of the DVD player is the same as other devices, ie Scaart outputof DVD = Scart ouput of Sky box....Which it doesnt..........Personally i think SKy should transmit Test patterns on channel off the EPG (Astra may already do this) and use those to calibrate
     
  20. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +932
    Whilst not the same it should be close enough. I've done it in the past with TV's I've owned, calibrated the RGB output of my player and used those settings for Sky. Not perfect but it's the nearest I could get. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...