1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Calibration DVD for HDTV

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by multiply, Aug 24, 2005.

  1. multiply

    multiply
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +9
    As a relative noob, I've been looking around various home cinema forums and it seems that in order to get the best PQ from your HD TV, it is advisable to get a calibration DVD.

    Having just purchased the Samsung LE26R41BDX (and awaiting delivery), I took the plunge and ordered Digital Video Essentials - dvd.co.uk are selling it for £12.99 inc. delivery, so I thought this was a good investment.

    If anyone is interested, I will post my experiences once I have received both disk and TV and tried to calibrate. I'll be using the Samsung HD950 DVD player, so it should be a true hi-def test.

    In the meantime, if anyone has already experienced this exercise and would like to share any words of wisdom, it would be truly appreciated....

    Cheers,

    Gary
     
  2. pjskel

    pjskel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    2,676
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +124
    950 isn't a HD player, it just upscales DVD (540 lines) to 720/1080.
    You'll need DVE Pro which has a HD disc as part of the package and a PC with MPEG 2 or 4 (not sure which) to decode the signal contained on it.
     
  3. multiply

    multiply
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +9
    oh.
    So are you saying I won't be able to calibrate the TV with this combo? :(
     
  4. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,017
    and surely then that would only calibrate your VGA input against the output of the PC you used.

    Realistically though, you could still use digital video essentials, or Avia, or THX optimiser. Most of the tests are about colour, brightness, contrast etc, which should be as valid on a HD set as an SD set.
     
  5. multiply

    multiply
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +9
    Thanks, Richard.
     
  6. Andy Leitch

    Andy Leitch
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Messages:
    547
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    None of your business
    Ratings:
    +60
  7. multiply

    multiply
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    312
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +9
    Andy,
    Just tried to pm you, but your profile has blocked this.

    :(
     
  8. ianh64

    ianh64
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    SW London/Surrey borders
    Ratings:
    +63
    HD is a completely different colour space than SD. Some displays have a problem converting upscaled YUV to RGB HD because of this - I believe you get a shift to green.

    -Ian
     
  9. richard plumb

    richard plumb
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    14,286
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Windsor
    Ratings:
    +1,017
    understood. But at the end of the day, you will be watching (initially at least) DVDs which are mastered for SD colourspace. Ultimately the aim is to get the DVDs to look as good as possible. Surely it makes sense to use a DVD on the source you will use, as the method of calibration - at least for those sources.
     
  10. jriihi

    jriihi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ah thanks Andy. I forgot about that INHD Tuneup thingy :)
     
  11. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    811
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    Used standard DVE on my new Panny LCD - it's still useful for setting up. I went through all the tune ups - the movie segments looked gorgeous. Then switched to Sky and had to change everything back - oh well. As for Freeview (built in) - hmmmmm.

    H
     
  12. Glib

    Glib
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    Can't you save settings for different source inputs?
     
  13. Howard Pitfield

    Howard Pitfield
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Messages:
    811
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +17
    You can indeed - but why use DVE to set up and then Sky via RGB looks different. Guess the new DVD player with upscaling was doing it's job too well!

    H
     

Share This Page

Loading...