Cabling questions for 3808 & 2930 setup

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by the thing wnn, Sep 4, 2007.

  1. the thing wnn

    the thing wnn
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons
    Ratings:
    +859
    Hi all,

    Just wanted to probe the knowledge of you Denon owners out there.
    I am picking up my new 3808 Amp tomorrow along with my new 2930 DVD Player
    My current setup involves a 3803 amp and 2910 DVD player.
    My question is how best to cable my new 2 together???

    I will be getting a Kuro Plasma when i move later this year, but for the near future, my display is a PWD4 Standard Def Plasma which i have a component input for.

    On my old setup i was running 6 phono's from the dvd player to the amp for DVD Audio and SACD. Then obviously running component out of the DVD Player to the amp (which was switching this and an x-box output to my plasma) and all digital audio was going from the dvd player to the amp via an optical lead (Phew!)

    So i know both the 2930 and the 3808 do Denon link 3 (DVD Audio & SACD) so i assume i connect these for that output? Does Denon Link 3 carry the 5.1 audio also????
    I have 2 HDMI leads ready for my new equipment but obviously i only have component out to the plasma. I know the 3808 does component switching as well as HDMI switching, so my question is, is it worth running HDMI from the DVD player to the amp for a SD signal then out via component to the plasma? (is this actually possible?) also if this is ok, would the 5.1 signals come through the HDMI therefore making the optical lead redundant?
    Obviously when i get my KURO its HDMI all the way, but whats best for now????
    Shall i stick to component out of the DVD player and either denon link 3 or optical out for the sound???

    aaaarrrrgggghhhhh!!!!!!!! :lease: :suicide: :smashin::D

    also, do you get a denon link lead with either the amp or dvd player????

    Think thats enough questions for now!!!!!!

    Thanks :thumbsup:
     
  2. welshy

    welshy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Messages:
    856
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Bangor, North Wales
    Ratings:
    +118
    I can answer a couple of your questions - Denon Link will carry 5.1 audio and the DVD player will come with a Denon Link lead which is essentially a cat5e straight through cable.
     
  3. Owen824

    Owen824
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    4,584
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +193
    The denon link handles all audio formats including sacd and dvd-a. beats optical or phono anyday in my opinion. i would just hook the hdmi from the player to the reciever and then run the component to the tv. Should not matter as your tv is is standard def so the upscaling on the dvd is not going to make much difference to your picture until you get the KURO and then the fun begins! :smashin:
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,318
    Just bear in mind the Amp will not downconvert an HDMI signal to Component so you may as well just go direct from the player to your current Plasma via Component and then connect up via HDMI when you get your new one.

    Personally, I wouldn't bother going via the Amp for Video unless you run out of Inputs on the display.
     
  5. the thing wnn

    the thing wnn
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    4,115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons
    Ratings:
    +859

    thanks to all for the great comments and help

    all set up now via component and denon link for now until HDMI comes along for new screen

    Jase - would be running via amp to keep number of cables to screen to a minimum :)
     
  6. oldnovice

    oldnovice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    hamilton
    Ratings:
    +5
    Will the Kuro upscale to 1080p i amm thinking of getting one also???
     
  7. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
    I just bought a Pioneer PDP-LX508D 50" Kuro. Yes, I think it upscales?

    If this is right, isn't it a bit of a waste having a Denon receiver which also upscales?

    I'm also considering the Denon 3808 or 4308 to replace my 3805 (which I love, but it's missing HDMI).

    Any guidance welcome!
     
  8. spooney

    spooney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,252
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Seyring
    Ratings:
    +204
    All LCD/DLP etc device have to upscale to their native resolution. They can't display an image with a different resolution.

    If your display or a AVR or a player are better in the de-interlacing/upscaling discipline is something you need to test or somebody has the experience.

    Personally I would go for a good player like the 2930 or 3930 and utilize their outstanding capabilities for DVDs.
    For all other sources I would let the panel handle the picture processing
     
  9. oldnovice

    oldnovice
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2005
    Messages:
    155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    hamilton
    Ratings:
    +5
    have read up on the kuro & they do a 1080p in 50 & 60 inch bit pricey at 3k+
    the 3910 upscales to 1080p/i so should b worth considering the kuro.
     
  10. Peter Galbavy

    Peter Galbavy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a 60" Kuro, a 4306 and a 3930. While people rave about the Kuro's upscaling ability, to be blunt the 4306 does much better upscaling from my Topfield to 1080i (as opposed to 576i passthrough) and the 3930 walks all over the Kuro native upscaling.

    For a TV, it does very well but the internal tuner doesn't look anywhere as near as clean and smooth as the rather old Farouja chipset in the 4306 converting the Topfield output.
     
  11. dazed & confuse

    dazed & confuse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    149
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hi Guys

    I've just ordered a denon DVD-2930, and would like some advice on connections. I intend to use HDMI looped through a Yamaha RX-1700 to my Pioneer 507XD screen.
    Questions:

    1. Should I set the denon output to 720p or 1080i?
    2. Bitstream or LPCM?

    Any other tips or suggestions for the Denon would be much appreciated.
    Manhy thanks
     
  12. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,942
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,318
    I'd try them both but you may find 1080i looks better as the panel then only has downscale to it's native resolution rather than upscale it again from 720p.

    Set the audio to Bitstream so your Yamaha can perform the decoding.
     

Share This Page

Loading...