1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cabling problem with new DVD recorder

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by popchart, Mar 18, 2005.

1. popchart

popchart

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a newbie to this group desparatly seeking some help to connect up the following items:-

Sony KV-32FX60U tv with 3 scarts
    Panasonic TU-DSB30 Sky box with 2 scarts
    Panasonic DVD recorder DMR-E55EB with 2 scarts
    Panasonic VCR recorder NV-FJ620B with 2 scarts

I currently have the Sky box into AV1 on the TV and the DVD into AV2. Whether the dvd records or not depends on whether the tv is on or off! The vcr cannot see the sky box either.

Any help would be much appreciated before my wife throws the dvd recorder out of the window.

Chris

2. criggy

criggy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +76
  3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,905
    You have the Sky box routed into the DVD recorder via the TV which is will only work when the TV is switched on.

Try routing the Sky box into the DVD Recorder and from the DVD Recorder into AV1 on the TV as that should work.

The second scart output on the Sky box should go to the VCR and from there to AV3 on the TV

4. GreenBars

GreenBars

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +23
    This is my idea.

I'm making the following assumptions when proposing this set-up:
    1. On the TV, both the AV1 and AV2 scart sockets can accept an RGB signal.
    2. It is possible to select what is output from the TV's AV3 scart socket, e.g. AV1, AV2, AV4, etc.
    3. A signal is still output from the AV3 scart, even if the TV is in stand-by - not sure if this is the case if the power is switched off completely.
    You would need four scart cables to effect this set-up: