Cabling for Sky Digital

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by Tracey, May 16, 2002.

  1. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just moved into a new house and we are having the whole place re-decorated, re-plastered etc. I was an ITV Digital customer but am now thinking of changing to Sky for obvious reasons. My question is, is it possible to run all the cabling that is needed to connect a Sky digibox minidish myself so that when I eventually order sky they can just put the dish on the roof align it properly and connect it all up? the reason I want to do this is so that the cabling can be run up the wall (under the floorboards) in a false box, that will then be plastered over and I won't have cables all over the place. I need to extend the chimeny breast 4 inches either side as I'm having a fireplace installed, so it seems like the perfect opporotunity to hide all the cables.
    so, does anyone know what I would need and where I can get it?

    Any help woukld be much appreciated.
     
  2. seppy

    seppy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You'll need a speacial cable that is very hard to get hold of. I managed to get some extra from the NTL installer so I could cable myself. The digital signal is much more sensitive to signal noise, so they use a much higher quality cable. I suggets you try a specialist supplier, but don't use standard 75 ohm cable from B&Q or you'll regret it. Freeze frames etc..
     
  3. andyk

    andyk
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +167
    It's not that difficult to get hold of

    www.screwfix.co.uk - electrical/cables you will find this £30 for 100m (free next day delivery if you order more than £45)

    This is the description:
    PRODUCT INFORMATION: Ph100 Satelite Cable
    Sky endorsed cable, suitable for both analogue and Digital installations. 75ohm copper foil and braid. Black 100m coils.
    BS EN 5011 7-1
    CAI Approved
    Conductor Dia - 1mm Bare Copper
    Dielectric Dia - 4.6mm polythelene
    Outer Conductor Dia - 4.65mm
    Outer Sheath Dia - 6.65mm PVC
    Outer Braid - 64x0.14mm Bare Copper
    54% coverage
    Foil - 70g/m

    PRODUCT DESCRIPTION UNIT PACKS ORDER
    QUANTITY
    - 0633 PH100 SATELITE CABLE EACH 1
    £29.99
    - -
    (I couldn't get the link to work)
     
  4. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Homebase also sell black satellite cable at 55p per metre which you cut yourself from the 100m coil.
     
  5. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +665
    If you are going to that much trouble then consider the requirement for two feeds for Sky+.

    You may not be going that way initially, but perhaps it is worth putting the cabling in place anyway ?

    Mark
     
  6. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    The new SKY dish comes with a QUAD LNB and this means u can have 4 runs of cable from the dish, u could get sky + and 2 more digiboxes. Look to the future when analogue tv is dead u can only watch 1 channel with sky digi unless u get SKY + and even then u can only watch one while u record the other! So be future proofed get 4 runs of cable installled and have then nicely hidden.

    NB Make sure there are as few bends in the cable as possible.

    good luck!

    gbmitie
     
  7. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all the advice, sorry I'm being a bit thick here, presumably you mean I should install 4 runs of cable from the dish to the front room where I'll be having the STB, or are you saying that two runs could potentially be needed for one STB and two runs for the other, so I would be advised to have two within easy access of my tv downstairs and two ready to be plugged into an extra STB upstairs?
     
  8. gbmitie

    gbmitie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2001
    Messages:
    1,120
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    republic of ireland now
    Ratings:
    +56
    Tracey

    the SKY + box needs 2 cables. Then the spare will need another cable. So if u want 2 boxes in front room then run 3 cables. The 4th cable could be used for another box upstairs.

    NB with the SKY + u can only watch one channel and record the other, this means the sky box does not output 2 channels.

    OK

    GBMITIE
     
  9. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I understand now, the Sky plus box would need 2 runs of cable, one for playing and one for recording another channel but any extra boxes would only need one run of cable but would mean I can only watch or record one channel at any one time.

    thanks very much. I'll be sick of the sight of cable when we've finished, the whole house is being re-wired this weekend :(
     
  10. MarkTaylor

    MarkTaylor
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    4,327
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +665
    If I understood the question, the answer is that on the other boxes (not the Sky+ box) you are only able to receive one channel at a time so you can watch it, record it, or watch what is being recorded, but you could not watch one Sky channel at the same time as recording another.

    Abviously I am assuming that you have a VCR or similar attached to the normal Sky box to handle recording.

    Mark
     
  11. Tracey

    Tracey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes I have two VCR's haven't changed to recordable DVD yet.
     
  12. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    the best cable that you can get is the ct125 made by raydex.
    i say best because of the cost.
    if you really want THE best than go to kimber cable,but it cost silly money.
    go to an electrical wholesaler and if he's any good he'll know it,it comes min' 250 metre roll.
    if you ask an ariel fella hes likely to charge between £4-6 metre & put you of it.(it just means he has to order it himself.)
    maplin do one at a good price but i don't know who makes it.

    if you want amongst the finest cables for both tv ariel/sat then the ct125 is the way to go but buy it yourself.
     
  13. Lex

    Lex
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,089
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Ratings:
    +4
    Got my cable from ARDelectronics.com - I ran it and the installer just connected it at each end when he came out - then he uninstalled it, but that is another story! :rolleyes:
     
  14. btuckey

    btuckey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firstly, not all cables are made equal! The quality of a cable is governed by two main factors; screening and signal attenuation (loss).

    If you go to an electrical wholesaler or DIY store you will get a ‘no name’ brand with unpredictable results. The three main cables used by professionals are as follows:

    CT100 – 6.45mm dia, 35mm min. bend radius, 20.0dB @ 1GHz
    CT125 – 7.8mm dia, 45mm min. bend radius, 16.5dB @ 1GHz
    CT167 – 10.1mm dia, 50mm min. bend radius, 12.8dB @ 1GHz

    All attenuation figures are for 100m lengths. Typical costs for 100m reels excluding VAT are as follows:

    CT100 – www.farnell.com £40.00
    rswww.com £44.34
    www.maplin.com £38.29

    CT125 – www.farnell.com £49.95
    rswww.com £53.21
    www.maplin.com £51.00

    CT167 – www.farnell.com £78.70

    We usually use CT125 for professional installations but CT100 is fine for domestic use. My own system has a 40m run and performs faultlessly (albeit with a 1.2m dish!). However, with all cables, watch out for the minimum bend radius. I use plastic conduit to ensure smooth curves. Also avoid multiple connections, each F-Type inserts loss into the system.

    Brian
     
  15. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    btuckey,
    other than the maplin brand,you never mentioned what brand the ct100/125 were.
    there are a number of brands ie,raydex,webro(used by sky installers)
    the ct167 is totally unnecessary,firstly it won't fit in the connecters to go into the tv/satbox etc & really you won't see the differance between this & the ct125(raydex)
    if you want to talk cables then you should have mentioned the rg59.totally over the top,too thick,too pricey but there if anyone is willing to try good for you.
    raydex ct125 generally comes in min 250metre rolls but i have see it in 100 metre rolls but it costs more per metre this way.
     
  16. btuckey

    btuckey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    RS use a number of premium brands which are always to BS EN50117. Farnell usually supply either Raydex, CDT or Multicomp.

    I know that CT167 is unnecessary, that’s why I suggested CT100 for this installation. As it is fatter (as stated in my post) you need different F type connectors. I merely put it in to give the full picture. Seeing the difference depends on the feeder distance. It is all down to the spend/gain ratio.

    The RG59 is a Video cable and not a satellite feeder cable. Good at 135MHz for CCTV or studio work, but it’s attenuation at 1GHz is a whopping 30.8dB per 100m. Not much use for connecting up LNBs! Thick? At typically 6.2 to 7mm it is thinner than CT125.

    Sorry, CT100/125 generally comes in 100m rolls. Look at the catalogues. It is a statement of the obvious that buying 250m is cheaper per metre than 100m rolls.
     
  17. mo

    mo
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    769
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    london,england
    Ratings:
    +23
    i'll quickly just say this!
    the kimber ariel cable (in yellow) compares itself to the rg59.
    yet it's thinner than the ct100.
    it has a money back guarantee(don't ask me on it)but i don't know what differance you'll see if any.
    bottom line.....
    use the ct125(raydex) & buy it yourself.it will make a little differance over the longer distances.
    those who can't be bothered, ct100 is more than fine.
    those who want to know they've got very best/can afford it too, buy the kimber cable,because simply their 'kimber' & a mightly fine branded product.
     
  18. btuckey

    btuckey
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Information from Kimber’s website:

    *****************
    V21 - Optimized video performance.

    This 75 ohm RG59 type coax cable has performance vastly superior to standard 75 ohm cables. The center conductor is pure solid-core copper and insulated with a foamed dielectric.

    • RG59 type 75 ohm coax cable
    • Pure solid-core copper center conductor
    • Foamed dielectric
    • Terminated with Ultraplate™ RCA or gold plated BNC or “F” connectors
    • Composite, Component and RGB+HV formats are available

    The performance vs. cost ratio of this cable is extremely high making it ideal for multi-room wiring as well as high performance video sources.
    *****************

    Still a video cable. Still no good at 1GHz.

    When you’re in a hole, stop digging.
     

Share This Page

Loading...