Cable need for a Infocus IN72

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by nwgarratt, Dec 22, 2006.

  1. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,182
    My Father has the IN72 and I told him a VGA to DVI adapter is needed to put his laptop on it. I was wrong, it needs a VGA (female) to M1-DA adapter. I am having trouble finding one (under £10 preferably).

    Anyone, know where to get them?
     
  2. tfboy

    tfboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +454
  3. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,182
    Thanks but, that looks not what he needs. It looks like this and is wider than DVI.

    [​IMG]

    Or, is there such thing as a VGA (male) to HDMI cable?
     
  4. simz

    simz
    Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Messages:
    359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Newton Aycliffe County Durham
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry to but in, but what is your w100 like compared to the n72 your dad has got?
     
  5. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,182
    Picture wise it looks identical and I cannot tell the difference. The biggest differences are different sockets on the back and the IN72 has a much larger lens throw and zoom. That's about it. The IN72 looks nicer but it is really big and £100 more expensive. I don't think it is worth paying the extra unless the lens throw is needed.
     
  6. tfboy

    tfboy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,401
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +454
    Ahh ok that makes sense (I wasn't sure from the initial post if the DVI end was at the PJ or the laptop).

    You won't be able to use a VGA out of the PC because the HDMI (thin/wide connector) and the DVI are both digital only. So you need a DVI to DVI cable or a DVI to HDMI cable. If your laptop only has VGA and no DVI, I doubt you'll be able to connect it up.
     
  7. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,182
    The projector can accept both analogue and digital though and I just found something.

    VGA MD1Acable
     

Share This Page

Loading...