1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Cable help for a newbie

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by karlos 10, May 26, 2004.

1. karlos 10

karlos 10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I am getting a Thompson 32wb643 tv, a jvcxv-na77 dvd player and have sky+. I am not bothering with any other equipment at this stage.

I want to connect my dvd to component video leads and sky+ to RGB scart. I am confused by what cables I need to get audio from the dvd. Also, with the scart do I get a video only + audio or a 21 pin scart that has audio.

Also, do I need any other cables, eg. power and would they make any difference to my basic set up.

I apologise for the very basic level of these questions but I am very new to this and trying to learn.

Thanks all

Karl

2. eviljohn2

eviljohn2

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +208
    Don't worry about the questions, they're by no means basic :smashin:

Assuming your TV has component inputs, it should have accompanying audio inputs which you can connect to your DVD player for sound.

Although a Video/Audio only scart cable will probably work I'd recommend getting a fully wired (21pin) scart lead. I don't know your budget but the Philex Thor Scart lead mentioned in our Special Offers forum here is very good value.

Hope this helps :)

3. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    In case you want a second opinion, I agree with eviljohn2

4. karlos 10

karlos 10

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot for that, will have a look at that scart. Will the audio cables that come with the dvd player be okay or should they be upgraded. Do I need analogue or digital audio cables, my tv has virtual dolby surrond.

Cheers

5. Ian J

Ian J
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4,906