Cable advice needed please

Total_Noob

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi,

As my name suggests, i'm new to the world of home cinema and after several months of looking at various pieces of kit i have finally taken the plunge and ordered what i'm hoping will be a very good set up.

However, i have spent the past few days reading posts on here and other sites and have now totally confused myself as to the best way to connect all my equipment for optimal performance.

So i was wondering, if i listed all the equipment i have ordered, if anybody could give me some much needed advice about the best way to go about connecting it all:lease:

Any pointers (to other threads even?) on optimum settings for the TV would be appreciated also.

Unfortunately, living out in the sticks, apart from 'Curry's' and the like, my only option was to buy the system i wanted over the internet.
I really can't express how much of a noobie i am at all this and i'm starting to think i may have bitten off more than i can chew.

Thanks in advance for any responses.

Pioneer PDP-428XD TV
Denon DVD 1940
Onkyo TX-SR605 AV Receiver
QAcoustics 1010i 5.1
SkyHD

That looks lilke you have made it nice and easy for yourself. Without making the whole process over complicated by adding lots of cables just go with below to start with:

DVD > via HDMI > AMP (DVD in or HDMI 1 in)
SKY HD > via HDMI > AMP (HDMI 2 in)

AMP > via HDMI > TV HDMI in

If it's all going to be on a stand then that's 3 (1.5M?) HDMI cables (no need for silly expensive cables, as digital transfer is unlikely to suffer from EM induction errors over a short distance... it's a profit making myth that you need £100 cables)

You will need a RCA > RCA subwoofer cable.

Get some good speaker cable to the 5 speakers (especially the front 3 speakers) and off you go.

Can't help with the TV settings but I'm sure if you do a search on here you will find something.