Question buying wall plates, need cable/wiring advice, or map?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by grancave, Jun 18, 2015.

1. grancave

grancave
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hello, my first post here. The name says it all. Building a grancave/cinema and about to buy some wall plates so my speaker cables are tucked away nicely behind the wall. I'm a total novice and have very little knowledge of what plugs into where, so I need some advice, or a decent wiring map with the names of everything on it.

I'm guessing my projector will need an hdmi cable going to the receiver. Please correct me if I'm wrong. The receiver will also have hdmi cables running to xbox, bluray player, and speaker cables (I think). What have I missed? Is there anything else that comes out of the projector, apart from the power cable? From looking at pictures of projectors I see there's a lot of plug holes in the back of them but not sure what they're all for, or if they're all needed.

I need to know because I'm buying wall plates for the speaker and it would be neater if I got one with an hdmi so I can tuck that up in the ceiling and run it down behind the wall to the wall plate.

ps, is a receiver an amp or do I need one of them too? Cheers for any help.

2. simonlewis

simonlewis

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,757
    You only need the sockets on the projector that you are going to use for example HDMI lead from amp to projector and it needs a power supply obviously and thats it, yes a reciever is an amp obviously it is designed for home theater and not a stereo amp that you might buy for music.

Hope this helps. :)

3. grancave

grancave
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks Simon. So glad I joined up today. Your answer helps me a lot.