• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Buying Second Hand - Deal or No Deal?

M17TT C LCFC

Established Member
Hi all,

I've been thinking about replacing my 28" JVC CRT with an LCD as i want to make the most of the space in my bedroom.

I was thinking of saving up around £400 and then getting something in the January sales but now i've got the idea in my head, i want one now!

However, being impatient, my budget will only be around £250-£300 so I was thinking of going down the second hand route and would like to know what others would do in this situation as i'm a bit of a noob when it comes to TVs.

The TV will be used mainly for freeview viewing but also Xbox 360. I would also like to be able to connect a PC/laptop to it and finally an AV receiver/amplifier.

Any advice/links/cheap TVs will be greatly appreciated as as you can probably tell, i'm not too hot no LCDs.

Thanks
Matt

Last edited:

pixlrik

Prominent Member
For £360 you can get a Sony KDL32V4000 which has built in Freeview (even more space saving) and can be connected to a PC/Laptop (not too sure about the AV receiver/amplifier though). I'm sure XBOX 360 will look lovely on it too. For a 32" TV thats a good brand and has got very good reviews, why risk paying a few pounds less to get a second hand that could fail not long after purchase and it leaves you with wasted money and no working TV. Be patient for a wee bit more, get that extra £60 and then buy it or a similar priced 32" LCD. I wouldn't bother with second hand, especially as LCDs are cheap enough nowadays compared to what they used to be. Good luck.

Last edited:

M17TT C LCFC

Established Member