Buying my first Digital SLR

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by CarlukeDave, Dec 18, 2006.

1. CarlukeDave

CarlukeDave

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good evening,

This is my first post on here and it's probably a question that's been asked many times, but I'll ask it anyway.

I'd class myself as a beginner photographer, I currently have a Fujifilm Finepix S5000 and I get decent results with it, but I'm looking to upgrade.

I'm looking at a DSLR but would consider a fixed lens digital if it was highly recommended. I've read a few reviews and spoke to a few folk about the Nikon D40, most people seem to talk highly of it, as an entry level DSLR, but I read a few bad reviews on another web forum. I'm looking to spend around £500 or slightly higher, and want to get the right camera.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Dave

2. RobDickinson

RobDickinson

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +748
    D40 is quite a 'cut down' dSLR, cant use some of nikons lenses due to having no in body focus motor.

D50 is better but IMO lacks some performance & features (DoF preview etc) that I use on my 350d.

But they will ALL take good pictures with decent glass (important) and the 3 main primary advantages of dSLR's are large sensor (better ISO performance vs noise), performance (time to switch on, shooting speeds etc) and interchangable lenses.

If you can live without all that buy a fixed lens 'bridge' camera, dSLR's work out more expensive in the long run, typicaly spend 2-3 times as much on lenses as the body , easily.

Saying all that dSLR's are ace, go to a shop and handle them, see which feels better, see which you get along with best & has controls that work for you. (ease of selecting ISO, apatuer/shutter speeds, white balance etc).

3. CarlukeDave

CarlukeDave

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0