Buying AVC-A1XVA...advice please?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by GlynH, Aug 21, 2006.

  1. GlynH

    GlynH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    I am going to buy a 9 week old AVC-A1XVA and would like some advice please?

    Is there a way to tell if it is an 'upgraded' XV or a factory shipped XVA?

    The reason I ask is my AVC-A1SRA was apparently factory shipped but Denon never seemed to bother updating the silk screening on the amp to reflect this...it still said SR so I was never really sure...

    The box was not much help either with just an 'A' sticker that could have really been applied by anybody...

    On the earlier AVC-A1SE ISTR the KAVC upgrade board did not actually bring the SE up to SR spec but it looks like this is not an issue with the XV-XVA upgrade.

    The 'A' differences should be easy to spot on the XVA - 5 HDMI inputs vs. 3 on the older XV but is it possible to tell if this was purchased as an XV or XVA?

    Is there in fact any difference - maybe Denon still build the XV but just slot the upgrade board in...

    Any other hints/tips on buying the XVA would be much appreciated.

    Thanks & regards,
    -=Glyn=-
     
  2. JH4

    JH4
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2003
    Messages:
    2,461
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +299
    If you are in the UK, we are still waiting for the AVCA1XV-A Amp. It's not appeared yet.. Denon have'nt given an arrival date either.
    I guess if it has the extra HDMI ports you are safe, but maybe it's an early 'dealer' release, for demo use, perhaps.
     
  3. GlynH

    GlynH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    That's interesting...I am in the UK...

    I wonder if there will be any differences between this and the 'consumer' model on general release?

    I guess all of the forum members who have the XVA must have their existing XV's ugraded then?

    Seems strange that Denon have stock of the upgrade boards before the 'A' version is shipping though - it's normally the other way round!

    Thanks for that info JH4

    Kind regards,
    -=Glyn=-



     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,838
  5. GlynH

    GlynH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Hi Jase,

    Thanks for the info...to my eyes the 3805 looks a better remote :devil:

    Which remote do you have?

    Is the XVA remote supplied with the upgrade then?

    Kind regards,
    -=Glyn=-



     
  6. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,838
    I've got the original remote that looks like the 2nd pic. I haven't upgraded my A1XV.

    As far as I know, when you send the unit back for an upgrade you don't get the new remote.
     
  7. klacey

    klacey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +187
    Hi guys so the 'a' isnt in the uk yet, went to my local sevenoaks yesterday and they said it was, as im demoing it next week.
     
  8. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,838
    Well, one member on here who's from the UK has one so it must be available, albeit in very limited numbers. :)
     
  9. The WB

    The WB
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't get the new remote when upgrading. i was told it was going to cost $200AUS if i wanted one.
     
  10. GlynH

    GlynH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Well at the risk of repeating myself...go on...indulge me :rotfl: ...they must be as I have one now - probably the first second-hand XVA ever sold! :devil:

    It does have the later 'black' 1036 remote which is detailed in the manual but the touch screen looks & feels terrible - pressing it is like...:censored:

    So what remotes do you guys use and why?

    Harmony?
    Pronto?
    Nevo SL?
    Other?

    My initial fears about it being a dealer dem model were totally unfounded - the shop has their own dem model...

    Even the cardboard box has the model number AVC-A1XVA factory printed on it so I can safely say it originally shipped intact - not as an upgraded XV - not that it makes any difference...

    Mine will be staying in the box until I get the matching DVD-A1XVA and my plaster cast is removed...:eek: :mad: :suicide:

    Which UK member has the 'other one' then?

    Kind regards,
    -=Glyn=-

     
  11. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,862
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,838
  12. GlynH

    GlynH
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    Seems like the novelty of the XVA has worn off for chambeaj already - he seems preoccupied in the Plasma/LCD Forum of late... :devil:


    I don't think I was far off the mark when I said the 3805 remote looked a better remote...I would have to go so far as to say on first play the new remote is probably the worst I have ever seen :eek: - certainly worse than the RC8000 that came with the earlier A1SE/SR/SRA boxes IMHO and I wasn't over the moon with that one...

    The Nevo SL looks great but the price :censored:
    The Logitech Harmony 895 looks interesting though...

    Have a great weekend Jase.

    Kind regards,
    -=Glyn=-


    I use the remote that came with my A1XV. Also controls my DVD player so does exactly what I need. :)[/QUOTE]
     
  13. BandWidthJunkie

    BandWidthJunkie
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +159
    I use the Harmony 885 with my AVC-A11XVA and I like it :smashin:

    Took a little time to get right, but it was worth the effort :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice