Buying AV Receiver - Requesting Suggestion / Clarification

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by bhalakumaran, Jan 8, 2012.

1. bhalakumaran

bhalakumaran
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello All,

I would like to state upfront that i am a novice when it comes to audio systems. Hopefully will make a clear point of what i am looking for.

To explain my setup, I have

• Sony Bravia HDTV - KDL 40 EX520 (4 HDMI In, 1 Digital Optical Out, 1 3.5mm Jack audio out)
    • Airtel Set-top Box with HD Connectivity - ( HDMI Out , S/PDIF Out)
    • PC with HDMI Out.
    I wanna build a decent home theater setup , by hooking up my set-top box and PC to my TV.

From what i have looked up so far, It is my understanding that there is no easy way to have a good 5.1 Surround sound without a dedicated AV Receiver.

To set up a good surround system I believe i have to do the following,

• Connect the set top box to the receiver through the HDMI Cable.
    • Connect my PC to the receiver through the HDMI Cable.
    • The 5.1 System to the receiver through the dedicated connectors in the recievers.
    • Audio out from the TV to the receiver though either the 3.5mm Jack / Digital optical out.
    My requirements being,

• Able to watch movies / play games with 5.1 sound from my PC.
    • See Dolby Digital supported shows from my set-top box.
    • Switch between either cable / set-top box / PC outputs.
    Will this setup work ? Is there a better way to do this ? Please suggest.

I have not yet bought the AV Receiver or the speaker system. It would be great if anyone can suggest me a entry level AV Receiver and speaker system.
    Being in India my options are pretty limited. I have outlets for Onkyo, Denon ,Yamaha around my place.

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Bhalakumaran:)

2. PSM1

PSM1
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +5,409