1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buying amp from US

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by hitz, Mar 28, 2005.

  1. hitz

    hitz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2001
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is it worth buying a receiver from the US. What sort of complications will i encounter bringing it back to use here (i.e warranty, power supply etc).

    I will be visiting the US (NY) - so their will be no problems in terms of shipping rate as I will pick it up myself. Also - their are several of us going so im sure between us all - we will not go over the duty/tax free allowance combined.

    Any suggestions
     
  2. Grimley

    Grimley
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    854
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Deepest, Darkest Essex, so BEWARE!
    Ratings:
    +82
    IMO not worth the hassle -why?

    1. import duty & VAT charged by customs
    2. warranty not valid here
    3. voltage - 220V here 110V there so you'd need a lump of a step-up transformer to run it
    4. Shipping costs - add the VAT & import duty too & you'd've paid the same or more than would've done here

    my 1p's worth.... ;)
     
  3. Wolfman310

    Wolfman310
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    From memory your allowed to have £140 of stuff to bring back in and then you have to declare it, if you don't and you get caught, you will have to pay, so is a bit of a risk

    Also, you can't combine your allowances, it has to be per person.
     
  4. Cliff

    Cliff
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Messages:
    4,499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Kent & overseas
    Ratings:
    +1,688
    Apart from the duty issue- make sure you can switch it to 230 volts. Remember you probably won't get a receiver with RDS- Also make sure the FM and AM frequency interval can be switched.
    If it has on screen setup graphics they will probably be NTSC only.
    Ask for a "General model" rather than a US model as these have more switched options.
     
  5. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,868
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,781
    Denon told me that their US receivers are not "designed" to work with European tuner frequency steps. Bit of a hit and miss whether you get yoiur UK FM stations or not.
     

Share This Page

Loading...