1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buying a PW8 - have I made the right choice?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by simon33, Sep 20, 2005.

  1. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    The glowing reports of the PW7 and Panasonic's strong reputation have convinced me to go for the slightly newer Panny PW8 (silver). It looks great, does everything I want, and should hopefully give me the best picture for my money!

    I've read many previous posts about the various boards to go into the plasma. I think I've got it, but when spending £1500+ I really want to make sure I get it right.

    I'm going to be hooking up the following to the plasma:

    Sony Freeview Box
    VCR (Temporary, but I need it for the time being!)
    DVD Player
    PS2
    Xbox


    I'm planning to just buy the scart board to go into the plasma. Then I'd buy something like a 'Vivanco scart switch box' and plug all of my 5 devices into it. I'd then connect the output of the switch box to the plasma - meaning there will be just 1 input going into the plasma. This would cut down on wiring and allow me to connect everything up really easily (and cheaply!).

    However, is this the sensible thing to do? Part of me is saying this is all too easy!


    Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me - it's much appreciated!

    Simon.
     
  2. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    I'd say you're onto a dead cert there!!

    I know exactly what you're saying on the scariness - months of research, hours planning connections, wiring, measurements, position, but then just a five minute phone call and it's done and you're £1,450 lighter!!!
     
  3. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    837
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Simon - I think you've made a great choice but as you can see, I'm biased.

    You've not mentioned how you're going to get your sound. I personally run everything via a component switching AV amp. And I go into the screen's VGA input via Component to VGA cable.

    There are quite a few ways of connecting up these screens and what's good for me might not be good for you. If you have a component switching amp though, I'm told that this gives some of the best results.

    Let us know how you plan to get sound and the folks here might be able to help some more.
     
  4. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    There are myriad ways it can be done but this is certainly easiest and cheapest to start with. What sound do you have?
     
  5. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for all your quick replies.

    In my excitement over ordering the plasma it seems I totally forgot to think about the sound - whoops!

    Could anyone tell me what audio outputs, (if any), the PW8 has?
     
  6. Matt Horne

    Matt Horne
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2000
    Messages:
    4,117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Over the Hill & Far Away
    Ratings:
    +119
    None mate its just a screen.....you should feed the sound from your sources into a AV amp..

    Matt
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    you can get scart boxes that will pass sound through too....but clearly you would need to buy the speakers for teh pw8. You are much better doing it properly an dgoing for an amp and surround speakers though
     
  8. ddlooping

    ddlooping
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    1,413
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Essex
    Ratings:
    +27
    I might be wrong, but I think it's got a stereo output (RCA L/R)
     
  9. Peabo

    Peabo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, you can plug stereo speakers into it.
    I'd also say to go for component on everything that you can and plug them into the VGA slot. Don't forget that the scart board it the PW's weak point.
     
  10. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The scart board is 100% acceptable for 98% of the population. Just done a PWD8 for the mother in law with the last VSX402 amp in creation, straight to scart as they have a VCR and sky box. It looks fine, maybe it's better than a PW7, which did used to look a bit soft on scart. No trace of that now, it was seriously good.
     
  11. Liam @ Prog AV

    Liam @ Prog AV
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2002
    Messages:
    8,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +827
    Audio inputs depend on cards installed. A very simple install is one scart card (to a switcher if more than one or two sources) and the optional speakers. Sky remote operates the plasma like any other telly, and the scart board picks up audio too! Job done.
     
  12. tjradiohead

    tjradiohead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,895
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Ratings:
    +58
    How is the pw8 better than the pw7? can anyone point me in the right direction?
     
  13. Peabo

    Peabo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Mainly because it can display High-Def sources (although scaled down). It also has a number of minor technical improvements and has a smaller frame & better remote.
     
  14. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks so much for all your replies, they've been really helpful.

    If this is correct then this is ideal. A quick google and I think I now know what RCA L/R is.

    Is it simply the red and white plugs found on most speakers? If so I can just use a good pair of computer speakers I have - am I correct in thinking this?!
     
  15. peterakastorm

    peterakastorm
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't that the input? The RCA L/R? I have the screen at home, but can't seem to remember if it's in- or output... I believe it's an INPUT...


    EDIT: I was saying things that contradicted the other things I said ;) I mean, of course, that I think it's an input...
     
  16. simon33

    simon33
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone clear this up?!
     
  17. UKseless1

    UKseless1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    837
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +35
    Yes Simon you could run a pair of speakers from the screen, you must ensure that you run the right connectivity to the screen from your Freeview box i.e. ensure that you carry both video and sound to the screen.

    I imagine that if you PM Liam or MAW with exact details they will be able to set you straight regarding how you connect up with what you have.
     
  18. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    the inputs are rca the outputs for the speakers are the spring clip type that you stick the wire in...this assuming thye have kept the same from the 7 series
     
  19. Piers

    Piers
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,971
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +227
    Simon,

    The 7 series is the same as the 8 series. You get 2 spring clip terminals as MEP has said and can attach speakers to these. Far better to go for a proper 5.1 or 7.1 sound system which need not cost the earth or if the thought of all those speakers is not acceptable then the Yamaha YSP1 is worth thinking about.
     

Share This Page

Loading...