Buying a Pioneer PDP-435XDE - Your views?

crawshs

Standard Member
Reaction score
I'm about to go ahead and take the plunge and buy a Pioneer PDP-435XDE plasma which I believe comes with a media box hence a single cable from box to plasma screen.

To be honest, I like the design of the Pioneer unit and as it will be recessed into the chimney breast and I won't be watching it loads, looks are quite important.

I'm a complete newbie to all this plasma and home cinema stuff but would be interested in any expert opinions of the Pioneer unit.

Cheers.

You spend over £2000 on a telly you wont watch very much? Why not buy a nice mirror and go to the cinema more often?

Nobu said:
You spend over £2000 on a telly you wont watch very much? Why not buy a nice mirror and go to the cinema more often?

i've seen a couple of opinions like this, i.e. "if you are not going to watch it very much why buy an expensive plasma" (eg. in pv500 running in thread)

and they don't make sense to me at all ... so what if someone is not going to watch it v. often does that mean they shouldn't want to spend *their* money on something they want, so that when they do watch it they get maximum pleasure. can't understand it myself

back on topic, and i ain't no expert on plasma's but if you are after looks, the pioneer is easily the best looking plasma (IMO) out of the current batch of 4-5 "best" plasmas. they also have a v. decent picture, also saw the price at 2199 at riher sounds with speakers and stand (which you can probably sell on)

All I was saying is that when spending £2000 it is a good idea to consider whether it really is the way to *maximise* your pleasure. I love watching Movies and TV, hence getting a nice TV. If however I didn't watch TV very much, presumably as I didn't enjoy it that much, I would probably get a really good hifi, a good PC, a hifi system or maybe even a holiday, basically whatever I thought would give me the most pleasure.