buying a phone from Tesco mobile with no credit rating- pls help

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by Ewan154, Jul 18, 2018.

1. Ewan154

Ewan154

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +88
    Hi,
    I was thinking about buying a new phone from Tesco mobile. My old phone is pay as go and starting to break down.

I found a phone I like it was 12.50 a month direct debit. The only problem is I work as a carer. I look after my mum.

I have no credit rating. I own half my mums house. all the bills are in mum name. I have always paid cash for everything. I have about 21k in savings. I pay £13 a month for HSA and £8 a month for netflix.

If I buy a new phone from Tesco will they do a credit check on me? Will I be able to buy the phone?

Any advice.

2. mjn

mjn
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +13,422
    They will do a credit check on you. The amount you have in savings is irrelevant.

3. rousetafarian

rousetafarian

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +16,065
    Buy it sim free and outright using your savings maybe?

4. John

John

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,350
    Have you actually been declined?
    At that price and with those savings I'd just purchase the phone you want outright and go SIM only

5. LJx

LJx

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +451
    You don't need a good credit rating to get a mobile phone contract, they will probably let you have it if they can verify your identity

6. hippo99

hippo99
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10,313
    Even without a credit history I think you’ll be fine. There aren’t any defaults or CCJs at your address right?
    I got my first contract phone quite fresh out of uni (way, way back) without any credit history.

At £12.50 a month, it’s not like they’re risking you doing a runner with an iPhoneX.