1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Buying A Panasonic Plasme, Help Needed.

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MrRubberGloves, Dec 30, 2004.

1. MrRubberGloves

MrRubberGloves
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am new to all this so be gentle with me.

Have browsed this forum numerous times and haven't found the answers I need, so here goes...

At the moment my choice is between the Panasonic TH-42PW7B and maybe the Panasonic TH-42PHD7. Does the extra £800 warrant me to buy the PHD7? I can see that there are more pixels and the ratio is 3000:1 compared to 4000:1 but what other things are there that make the PHD7.

Which one would some of you opt for?

Now this is where it gets interesting, what extras will I need?

Should I buy one of the above I am none the wiser as to what else I should need to purchase, at the moment I only need to connect a combinded video and dvd player, I do have sky tv which is digital which currently runs from the front room via the small remote eye that connects through the back of the video/dvd player. Will I need to purchase anything else so that I can complete the set up of my plasma? At the moment the video/dvd player is connected to the TV via a scart lead.

In the future I am thinking of upgrading to Sky + and have the box installed in the same room as the plasma and when the kids get a little older I will buy a Play Station 2 or X Box games console, so what components will I need to purchase to connect the above to a plasma.

Thanks in advance, my head is now mashed.

:smashin:

2. hornydragon

hornydragon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    GEt tthe PHD7 but you may need to save an extra £8-900 for a scaler to get the very best out of it........It has more pixels and better processing

3. MrRubberGloves