Buy the Canon Mark II or wait for Nikon D800?

ensyed

Prominent Member
Reaction score
So I have been using my Canon 400D for several years and want to move up to a better camera. Instead of going up in steps I figure I may as well get the full frame Mark II or Nikon D700.
I really want the video functionality but from all reports the D700 is better for low light photos.

My uses are photographing moving kids, portraits, kids plays and sporting events, travel photos. So basically all the normal uses of a family with kids.

I will need lenses which go from wide angle to maybe 300mm. I have already read up on the flash that bounces off the ceiling??? Sorry dont know if I am describing it properly for indoor moving kids.

Anyone else debating between these 2 cameras? The D800 may not come out till the fall or even later per nikon rumors website.
Thx

Last edited by a moderator:
Not a great time to buy either the 5D MkII or the D700 IMO, simply because supply is tight right now and prices have gone up as a result.

There's lots of speculation that follow on model launches may be also delayed due to the problems in Japan caused by recovering from the 'quake.

If it were me looking for one of these, I'd be waiting a little while to see whether any new cameras do get announced, (Aug/Sept is the usual time) or to see if supply re-establishes itself enough for the prices to come back down again.

If you're going to stick with Canon, then in the interim, if you don't already have one, a 430EX II flash would improve indoor children photos enormously even on the 400D when bounced off the ceiling. Of course if you'd prefer to move to Nikon then you'd have to wait until you change.