Buy the AVR-X2700H or AVR-X3700H or wait for 2022 Line Up?

MikhailCompo

Established Member
Reaction score
I want to use my X2200 for my PC setup, so I need to replace my current main receiver. I've explored the options (I like the Marantz NR1711 but concerned about HDMI issues) and so far am settled on either the AVR-X2700H or AVR-X3700H.

Should I wait? If so, why, what new features are we expecting?

My concerns are the compatibility issues that seem to manifest with new models for quite some time after the are released. In some cases (not Denon's) but HW has been released and the problems never really get totally resolved. So the there are benefits going with a tried and tested model.

My point being - is it really worth waiting for the new 2022 range? And don't forget the cost.... and the component shortages......

Thanks helpful people!

I'm new to AVF but are present on numerous other forums that have discussed this. Whether to wait or not? Well, you can't win. I see the points you're making but contrary to them - no one knows what the new range will offer. So, what if you buy an x2700 or x3700 now and then regret it as there's a new feature launched you would have really wanted?
I'd suggest wait until they're launched - hopefully the older models will still be available, so you can then make your best choice.

Current Denon AV amps are over 2 years old. Must be some new kit coming out soon.
I’m looking for a new Denon amp, but will wait till the next models are out.

I believe the only expected feature at this point is a couple more 8k HDMI ports. There is some suspicion that the next x2XXX or x3XXX models may not be updated until next year.

Like you I was holding out for any news of upcoming Denon receivers (specifically x4xxx series). Contacted Denon Europe last week, and apparently they have no news regarding any possible updates to that particular model. I think I'll be going ahead with a purchase of the 4700H.