Burning Camera Film Footage to DVD - Struggling!

Discussion in 'Photography Forums' started by Neiliboy, Sep 20, 2004.

  1. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I've taken loads of video footage of my newborn daughter with my Sony P10 but im struggling to burn it ont dvd. I have Sony 'Click to DVD' software on my PC and it doesnt let me import the video files into it.

    If i try it using XP it doesnt specify wheter it wil lburn a dvd or a vcd?

    So where am i going wrong?

    I am a total amateur so all help is really appreciated!!

    Neil
     
  2. Neiliboy

    Neiliboy
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    205
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers guys.....

    The Uk #1 consumer electronics forums and no-one can help? :confused:

    Come on!!!

    Neil
     
  3. HardBoiledEgg

    HardBoiledEgg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well- I'll have a shot at helping you!

    What format does your P10 record video?

    Do you have any other software for burning DVD's with e.g Nero?

    If it's MPEG 1 and you want to play it as a DVD file it will need to be converted to MPEG2 (I think) or if you are just making a backup data sort of disc or a VCD you can leave it as it.
     
  4. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    I dont know your softwear mate, but if you use nero you should have no bother making vcd SVCD with a normal CD rom. That will play in most DVD's
     
  5. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    26,864
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +5,649
    I'm not familiar with the Click To DVD software, but maybe it's expecting the video files to be in a certain format and your files are in another format ? (for example the software may be looking for .avi files when your files are .mov). There are freeware packages available to convert from one format to another.
    Nero is an excellent package for this kind of thing though.
     
  6. shoehorn

    shoehorn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,610
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    The Garden of England
    Ratings:
    +32
    Not sure what to do, but try posting in the "Camcorders and video editing" section above this one..... there's some people that seem to know what they're doing! Otherwise look at http://www.videohelp.com/ loads of info - along with www.doom9.org - probably the best sites.
     
  7. Brian110507

    Brian110507
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the problem youv'e got Neiliboy is that it's not really a video camera you have is it - it's a stills camera that can take video's and not many of us know that particular camera - I did try to look up it's specification on the Sony site but couldn't find much information about the video side - so you'll have to help us a bit first, how do you transfer the videos to your PC - I guess it's over USB which is not good for a start - does the camera have a firewire port - possibly not so thats not good either, as already asked what format are the videos in your camera ? - presumably they are on a card so will be quite compressed even before we try to do anything with them.


    Do I guess you tried using MovieMaker in Windows XP - if it was version 1 that was not very good - but if you have version 2 how did the video look on screen - from within Moviemaker you can only produce VCD's but these will only play on the very latest DVD players as they use the High-mat technology.

    So tell us what you do and how you do it maybe we can expand from there.
     
  8. seany

    seany
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    2,997
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Manchester city
    Ratings:
    +1
    Download a trail verson of nero and you'll have no problem. I have uploaded films from my cam via usb at VGA 30fps super fine. Which at 9 mins would be 1 gig in size (never went nine minutes) burnt it on to disc no problem with nero
     
  9. HardBoiledEgg

    HardBoiledEgg
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well you were yelling for help the other day - where are you!! I thought you were desperate :confused:
     
  10. mjcairney

    mjcairney
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    7,145
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    137
    Location:
    Airdrie, Scotland
    Ratings:
    +991
    As I understand it, and I know not why, "Click to DVD" only works when the Sony Camcorder is connected to a Sony Vaio Computer.

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice