1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Burn in Scare

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Friction, May 5, 2005.

  1. Friction

    Friction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fell asleep last night while watching a sky+ recording on my pwd7 only to wake up 3 hours later to see the please press backup box, nearly had a heart attack as i leapt across the room to switch it off. :oops:

    As far as i can tell theres no damage, but is there a way of checking or would it be obvious to the naked eye.
     
  2. nak

    nak
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2004
    Messages:
    146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +12
    Yep, it would be obvious.

    Test using a semi-bright greyscale screen. If burn-in has occurred, you will see a ghosting of the sky overlap menu.

    If you see nowt, you're okay. If that was an earlier model PW4/5 set, you'd have no chance.

    Always run in Cinema mode for run-in period (200 hrs), and you'll be okay.
     
  3. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    The thing is nearly bullet proof, if you can't see anything in normal use it's fine. They 'age' in any case, so a very small amount of burn will diappear over time. It does not sound as if you've trashed it. My old firm left a DVD running on a 50" pioneer demo screen over a weekend once, that left SW AOTC menu on the screen all right. 3 weeks later you could not tell though.
     
  4. Friction

    Friction
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cheers guys

    Yeah definitely cant see anything just wanted some reissuance really, it would be just my luck/stupidity for something to go wrong.

    Got about 250 hrs on the clock and all settings are still on low plus wobbles on. Ill use the off timer next time :suicide: but i guess the screen is pretty resilient so no need to worry.
     
  5. nathanf

    nathanf
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    :eek: :rolleyes: :eek:
     
  6. davegtt

    davegtt
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2004
    Messages:
    112
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Got a panasonic Viera, we've not bought a HiFi yet so when I did the ironing (I know... dont ask) the other night and wanted to listen to a CD i played it on my PS2... if youve ever seen a PS2 playing music CDs through the telly then its got loads of icons for play, stop etc etc.... these we're ont he screen for more than an hour and nothing, second I switched NTL on it was all gone... nothing... well impressed. screen burn in? your avina giraffe!!!!
     
  7. alliwant

    alliwant
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    this is propably a stupid question, but how do you avoid screen burn when you have an inbuilt digital tuner? dont they have logos on all the channels? My kids have cebeebies on all day?
     
  8. nathanf

    nathanf
    Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    The tuner doesnt make a difference. Channels are broadcast tagged regardless of how they are recieved.
     
  9. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    yes, you should get them to change channel now and then...a single logo all day is a bad idea
     
  10. neilmcl

    neilmcl
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,217
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +290
    Especially the BBC channels, it's not so bad with the others due to the adverts every 15 mins or so.
     
  11. TonyA

    TonyA
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    But not all channels lose the logo's even when showing Ads!

    On Sky the UK TV channels (e.g. UK Gold), and Discovery channels keep their logo's up through the ads.

    To be honest, its a wonder the advertisers don't complain that their expensive adverts have the channel log splashed all over them.

    In this day and age with EPG's etc... is it really necessary to have channel logo's on at all?
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,579
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +474
    no it's not......but don't try and tell the marketing dept that! ;-)
     
  13. TonyA

    TonyA
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    2,765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +217
    Now what would be cool in this digital TV age, is that as you change channels, the channel logo for that channel could be displayed for 30 seconds or so, then dissapear.

    Surely this is not beyond the present technical capabilities.

    It would certainly make the majority of home viewers a lot happier.
     

Share This Page

Loading...