• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

Bungalow multiroom AV setup planning stage - techie and purchase advice needed please

maxlifo

Standard Member
Hi all,

I recently bought my first property (smallish 2 Bed Bungalow – floorplan below) and am in the process of planning a modest multi room set up while I wait for the builders to start work later this month. I'm after some advice from you guys as it's my first time attempting anything like this and to be honest with you, I'm not 100% sure which way to go. I'm just starting to read up on all this, so all informed input will be well received!

I plan to add pics in this thread as I go along to show the progress I've made. Looking forward to hearing some feedback from you all.

THE AIM:
  1. All equipment (besides TV and speakers) to be hidden out of view in bedroom 2 (spare bedroom). Main reason: I want a clean looking living room as not much space.
  2. All content available in Living room
  3. All content available in Bedroom 1 - if unachievable/too pricey, I can make do with V+ (via splitter) and the amp HDMI (splitter as well) into the TV and add an Acer Aspire Revo as a secondary HTPC later if I feel the need.
  4. Music available in kitchen when funds available, possibility of adding TV in future but unlikely
  5. Keep cost down as much as possible, so looking to achieve this with the least amount of new purchases. I'm a bang for buck man at the moment having to spend on renovating the place as well:rolleyes:
  6. Me to be able to sit in the lounge playing games while the missus watches Eastenders etc in the bedroom on the small telly :thumbsup:
  7. ALL ROOMS LISTED WILL BE CAT6 CABLED

KIT LIST (owned and yet to purchase):

BEDROOM 2 (Hub):

OWNED
  • Virgin V+ HD
  • PS3
  • Xbox 360