1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Built in scaler?

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Anders T, Nov 29, 2004.

1. Anders T

Anders T

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi!
    My name is Anders, from Norway. Just bought my first CRT, a Barco Grapfics 808S, bur I havent installed it yet. I'm new to this, but I understand it is recomended to put a scaler, or linedoubler, between the crt and DVD-player.
    Is any of the new dvd-players with built in scalers good enough to replace an external scaler? I'm thinking about buying the denon 2910 with a faroudja 2310 unit...

2. Vince M

Vince M
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :)

I dont particularly rate any of these scaling chips in dvd players,Though the new Denon with HQV chip should be nice.

Remember that HD-DVD is not that far away & all these "standard" dvd players though offering a facsimile of upscaled hi def-will not play the real HD discs.

A safe option is an external scaler with HDTV passthough so you can take a component 'true" 1080i signal out into the scaler then output via rgb at 1080i.

3. Vince M

Vince M
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...I recommend something like the DVDO I-SCAN HD(The plus is out soon!)

Cracking for the money!

4. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,786
    That Denon uses dvdo scaling I believe. The de-interlacing is done in the HQVchip. I also think that the analogue outputs of scaling DVD players are limited to 480P/576P and that the higher resolutions are only available on the DVI/HDMI outputs....and they will be copyprotected and therefore not much use to a CRT owner.