Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Built in FreeView will not work in Standby

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs Forum' started by JohnNoddo, Jul 7, 2005.

  1. JohnNoddo

    JohnNoddo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having just purchased a Panasonic Plasma with built in Freeview, I was dismayed to find that if you are recording directly a digital channel and switch TV to standby mode (as is a common thing to do) the Freeview Tuner is also turned off, hence no recording.(Confirmed by a email from Panasonic)
    Surely this is a major flaw, do all manufacturers have this problem?
    There is no mention of this in the sales blurp or in the manual
     
  2. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What Panasonic Plasma do you have?

    My PV500's manual states: 'The TV set must be "On" or in "Standby" mode for the DVB programme signals to be output to the external recording device.' (page 25)
     
  3. JohnNoddo

    JohnNoddo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Simon,

    Its a TH-42PE50B, is yours a later version?
    John
     
  4. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    If you do direct record yes it will switch off.

    However if you set the DVB timer record function then you leave the TV in standby hooked upto DVD recorder via Qlink. TV will control the whole process, without even turning itself on. Pretty cool and one of the best things about Qlink !
     
  5. superpixel

    superpixel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...or just buy a Sony Freeview Receiver, and see what real Freeview should look and navigate like...the transformation in picture quality is shocking, god knows what that receiver inside the Viera is...
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,346
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,218
    PV500 is the HD ready veira and is higher specced than the PE50 if using a Q-link device alls hould be fine, if not ie a Tivo or similar then there is a setting (was in the PE30) for the AV output to be set to DVB/monitor/etc etc try changing thi
     
  7. Ekko Star

    Ekko Star
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2002
    Messages:
    6,617
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +468
    Yes to benefit from this you must use Qlink.

    Set the AV socket connected to recorder to Qlink enabled. Set AV output to DVB.

    But to benefit from the standby function the Recording Event must be set by DVB Timer. This is the only way what you require will work. The TV will switch on the dvd recorder and switch it off automatically. The TV will remain in standby the whole time.

    If you record by Direct Record then switching the TV into standby will also stop the recording.
     
  8. JohnNoddo

    JohnNoddo
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't understand why the Q link technology works in standby but not direct recording.
    As stated, If I had known this I would have gone for the Sony intergrated box
     
  9. xenole

    xenole
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    The freeview tuner on my parent's Panasonic is very picky.
    If you leave the tv in standby and set the video to record whilst remianing in the room, it works fine.
    Go to bed or something and it fails every single time.

    Total pain in the backside having to leave the tv in stand-by in order to try and tape something. Luckily I have cable upstairs, so don't have to worry too much about that should I ever want anything.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice