1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building Regulations (Jan 2005) Can I install extra sockets myself?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by SimonMallion, Apr 22, 2005.

  1. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have read a number of topics on this forum and a few of them state that due to a building regulations change in January 2005, electrical work may need to be inspected build local council's building control service or installed by an appropriate electrician.

    I have been looking at a government website regarding this (http://www.odpm.gov.uk/stellent/groups/odpm_buildreg/documents/page/odpm_breg_033675.hcsp) and part way down it states:

    "Do I have to tell my Building Control Service about all electrical work that I intend to carry out?

    No - you only need to tell your Building Control Service about certain riskier, 'notifiable' jobs, but if you employ a registered installer with the relevant competencies to carry out the work, you will not need to involve a Building Control Service. (See Annex B for a list of registration schemes for electrical work.) Notifiable works include new circuits back to the consumer unit and additions or alterations to existing circuits in kitchens, bathrooms and outdoors. Works that are not notifiable include repairs, replacements and maintenance; and additions or alterations to existing circuits outside kitchens and bathrooms. If you are not sure whether work is notifiable, you should check with your Building Control Service."

    Since I want to install a fused spur off the ring main in the lounge to add about 6 sockets for AV gear,

    a) do I need to have this work done by a domestic electrician?
    b) if I do this myself (I am an industrial electrician, but am competent at domestic electrics), would the local council need to inspect it?

    I think I should be able to do this myself since the work falls into the "additions or alterations to existing circuits outside kitchens and bathrooms" category.

    What experience have members of this forum had regarding installation of extra sockets in the lounge?
     
  2. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    You do not need to notify your local building control Simon.
    Strictly speaking, it should be tested and a certificate issued,
    but if you are a sparky, just do it mate.

    Johnny.
     
  3. Jamiroquai78

    Jamiroquai78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not an electrician, however I do have a certain amount of the'old' coloured wire left, therefore any work I have done myself in my HC was done before Jan honest. Er......especially my new garden lights :devil:
     
  4. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    And they are RCD protected, aren't they Jam............ ;)

    Johnny.
     
  5. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    54,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +30,084
    A spur would do one or two sockets max, no way six, Johnny is in the trade I'd guess, so can probably give best legal advice.

    Dave
     
  6. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Even if this is a fused spur? What if I add up the current drawn by each device and put an appropriate fuse in?

    I was told by a domestic electrician that I should really run a wire back to the consumer unit and have it's own protected supply.

    If the answer to all this is that I cannot do this myself I will have to get this all proffesionally installed.

    Thanks for the other responses.
     
  7. IronGiant

    IronGiant
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Messages:
    54,102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Oxford UK
    Ratings:
    +30,084
    I'm sure a fused spur with an appropriate fuse would be perfectly safe, But I have no idea whether it is legal, sorry I can't be of more help,

    Dave
     
  8. Jamiroquai78

    Jamiroquai78
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Er ............... yes officer :blush:

    My house is only three years old and the garden lights are straight into the garage fusebox, If I f :censored: t too loud out there the RCD in the house flicks off :D so it seems quite sensitive. ;)
     
  9. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    If you are going to spur sockets off a ring main, you can put one socket
    off from each break into the main, upto a maximum of however many sockets
    there actually are on the main itself.
    ie. 10 sockets make up a ring main, then you can spur off 10 more, BUT, not
    all from the same point. They must be individual spur's.
    If you are planning to use a fused spur as the spur, then feed X amount of
    sockets from the LOAD side of the fused spur, you can fill your boots Simon.
    All fed using 2.5 csa, backed by a 13A fuse in the fused spur is fine.

    Will it cause too much of a problem to actually break into the ring and add
    all you need to the main itself?

    Johnny.
     
  10. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you are a sparky simon? you should know the answer to these questions! Industrial sparks normally know more than domestic ones.

    -Alex.
     
  11. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    :thumbsup: Couldn't agree more Alex...............
     
  12. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, put it this way: I did use to work in a diesel engine factory as a maintenance electrician, but that was over 8 years ago - I have been a computer programmer since then.

    I did do 16th edition wiring regulations as an apprentice but I wouldn't exactly say I remember much about that.

    @Johnny:
    It would be a bit of a pain to fit 6 or so individual spurs, so I guess I will have to go down the route of breaking into the main ring main and add the sockets that way.
     
  13. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Thats the best way Simon.
     
  14. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, now isn't there a restriction on the height of these sockets? 420mm - 1200mm?
     
  15. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Between 450mm and 1200mm from finished floor level.
     
  16. Alexg

    Alexg
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    234
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aha, that explains why you aren’t so up-to-date with the current regs then :~)

    As a self employed sparks with many years in the industrial field and a few less in the domestic field I found it hard to understand you calling yourself a spark without knowing these answers.

    Johnny: - How is Part P working out for you? Finding it ok or a bit of a headache?
     
  17. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Alex,
    I am still waiting for an exam result from the City and Guilds.(7 weeks now)
    So, I am not a member of an approved body yet.
    It's not a problem though, Building Control in my area are being very
    understanding about it, and making things run smoothly for people in the
    same situation as me. In fact, they are so efficient, it's not worth not notifying
    them.
    Which association have you joined Alex? NIC.

    Johnny.
     
  18. SimonMallion

    SimonMallion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Messages:
    78
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for everyone's help, just one small question remaining :)

    I read somewhere about a change in the colours of the twin and earth cable and the actual sockets being date stamped, is that true? And if so, what are the new colours - is it better to get some old cable and sockets if I am going to do this job myself?
     
  19. Johnny Thunder

    Johnny Thunder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    2,232
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Middlesbrough
    Ratings:
    +140
    Not necessary Simon.
    Put harmonised cable in.(brown/blue)
    Just make sure you go to the local wholesaler and get a warning
    sticker that states "This installation contains wiring colours to
    2 standards........etc.".
    The wholesaler will know what you are after.
    Place the sticker on the front of your consumer unit.

    Johnny.
     

Share This Page

Loading...