1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building PC spec help

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by Gordon @ Convergent AV, May 12, 2004.

  1. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    Hi,

    More PC help needed from you guys. Melanie's PC has died and getting it back going is proving a bit of a nightmare. it's only a year old but its one fo those ones thats integrated audio and video on board and the recovery disk provided isn't getting it back working. So I am going to take the DVD rw and CD/DVD rom out of it along with the HD and the memory and use them and the monitor in another I'll build.

    The memory on board is 1 x 512, 333Mhz DDR SDRAM
    I was looking at this motherboard
    http://www.dabs.com/uk/ProductView?quicklinx=2RTF
    this processor
    http://www.dabs.com/uk/ProductView?quicklinx=2HNN
    I want to double up the memeory to 1024 so what should I buy?

    Also any other suggestions? Need a cheap sound card and video card.
    Any other suggestions for motherbaords and CPU's would be nice too

    Gordon
     
  2. dgc

    dgc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Recently rebuilt my htpc with:

    Asus P4P800 Deluxe
    P 3.0
    2x Geil 512mb PC400 Dual Chan
    Saphire 9600 non-pro (fanless)


    Very stable and has no problem playing those "HD samples "
     
  3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
  4. AVMADMAN

    AVMADMAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    No gordon you must keep the memory the same, ie same manufacturer same speed but you can chop and change the size i.e 512mb 256mb 1024mb


    here's my spec if it's any help

    Hardware
    Asus P4P800-VM Mobo
    P4 512 800 fsb
    Radeon 9600se (non pro) without fan....
    Maudio rev 7.1 sound card
    120gb Seagate HD quiet
    Liteon dvd rom
    Zalman 7000 CPU cooler

    Software
    XP pro + updates
    Theatertek + updates
    myhtpc
    dscaler
    pinnacle tv
    dvd profiler
    Rage3DTweak
    DirectX9
    WMP9
    Region Killer

    hope that helps..
     
  5. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    Thanks.

    I'm not using it for HTPC just as a PC. She's got a 40gig and 80gig disk. I am just trying to put something fast and powerful toether that will last a few years. Maybe the P4/800 thing is overkill.

    Would a new 512 fast ram be better than another 512 333Mhz one? (IE 512 FAST v 1024 SLOWER)

    Also why do you have to use same manufacturer, surely just same spec would be OK?

    gORDON

    Gordon
     
  6. AVMADMAN

    AVMADMAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon,

    It's best to keep them the same as some memory is slower than others even though they both may say 512mb on the front...

    Crutial make good memory

    If you are looking for fast then 800 fsb motherboards are the best way to go

    as for what difference 333mhz and 400 make.

    i have another p4 2.6 with 512mb memory 333mhz and the difference between that and the hcpc is definately noticable
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    That's a pain. The 512 I've got is unbranded. I don;t really want to spend another 400 on memory!.

    Thanks so far.

    G
     
  8. Judgey

    Judgey
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    55
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +9
    Can I just add that the memory does not HAVE to be the same brand and same speed (You will have to run at the speed of the slowest stick), but this is recommended in general and essential for overclocking or running in Dual Channel Mode on the new generation of Motherboards.
    If you are not trying to build a world conquering PC then I would suggest going for an NForce2 Board and maybe a AMD 3000+ Barton & a stick of ADATA PC3200 Ram. This would cost about £200 approx. The NForce2 Boards have Decent 5.1 Sound incorporated, including Dolby Digital Encoding and you can Pick up a Radeon 9800 Pro 128MB for less than £150 to complete the package.

    This would give you a solid performer which is no less futureproof than many newer and more expensive options. PC architecture is going through a revolution at the moment (64Bit Procs, PCI Express, New Socket Pin-out for the P4 Prescott above 3.4GHz) and it is easy to spend a fortune on what is sold as a bleeding edge PC, only to find in two months the thing is already obsolete.

    It really depends on what you want out of it.

    Hope this helps and sorry to waffle on.

    Judgey
     
  9. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
  10. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,152
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +718
    Unless it is going to be used for playing games, using duel monitors or developing complex autocad drawings I wouldnt go wasting £150 on a video card. You will get a video card that will suit your needs for a third of this price. Also do you need more than 512MB of memory? A soundblaster Live 5.1 is a very good sound card that will give you dolby digital output and only costs about £30, one of them, an nvidia video card and the chip and board is all you need. Get yourself a nice case, use your existing memory, cd, dvd and HD's and you will have a nice computer setup for under £250. Dont wast your money getting the best of the best if you dont need it is my advice.
    I have a 2GHz processor, 512MB RAM (266), Soundblaster Audigy, GeForce 4 video card and it runs photoshop, showshifter (with tv card and dvd drive) and Video editing suites fine.
     
  11. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,998
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,802
    It'll be running viavoice10pro and editing LARGE word documents with ie6/oexpress and anti-virus stuff all going on in background.
    I was going to buy cheapy geforce caard for graphics

    Cheers,

    G
     
  12. dgc

    dgc
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2003
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2

    My 2 x 512 Geil PC400 Dual Chan was £95 at microdirect
     
  13. AVMADMAN

    AVMADMAN
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
     
  14. IAMGEOFF

    IAMGEOFF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a stick of crucial 512mb PC2700 and one of Kingmax 512mb PC3500 running in dual mode @200fsb no problems at all.
     

Share This Page

Loading...