Building a small PC

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by KingEdward, Jan 21, 2008.

  1. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    decided to ditch the monster under desk tower in favour of a shuttle size machine. I don't game anymore (360 for that) so it only really gets used for basic internet functions & general video converting for ipods.

    i've pencilled in the following:

    Shuttle SK22G2 AM2 Barebone System Socket 940
    AMD Athlon X2 BE-2350 Socket AM2 2.1GHz Energy Efficient L2 1MB Cache
    Kingston 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 Memory Non-ecc CL5 Unbuffered 1.8V

    onboard graphics will be sufficient for my usage I assume & I'll use my current IDE hard drive, dvd-rw, monitor, keyboard & mouse

    Will this give me a decent day to day system, or can anyone suggest a better configuration within a similar budget ?

    Cheers
    KE
     
  2. GrahamC

    GrahamC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    2,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Morecambe, U.K.
    Ratings:
    +69
    For your intended use the system will be fine, doing what you require with the option for expansion in the future if you find the need. :thumbsup:
     
  3. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    Personally I would not go for the Shuttle barebones.
    Why, Via motherboard and not to a standard size so any problems you will then come unstuck.
    Try looking at.
    http://www.ebuyer.com/product/140118 + http://www.ebuyer.com/product/136367
    Why?
    1. Cheaper
    2. Standard MBoard
    3. Excellent connectivity, VGA, DVI, HDMI, loads of USB's etc etc. FAR better graphics X1250 HDCP compatible. http://www.giga-byte.co.uk/Products/ViewImage.aspx?ProductID=2579&ImageType=ProductImageBack
    http://www.giga-byte.co.uk/Products/Motherboard/Products_Overview.aspx?ProductID=2579
     
  4. waxdart

    waxdart
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2007
    Messages:
    207
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
  5. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    thanks for the replies

    Andy98765, thanks for the links. looks like that's the pairing i'll go for. looking at the antec site the ram /cpu i've chosen will be fine.
    will i need any cpu cooling ? is there space for it even ?

    also, what OS do you guys recommend ?
    XP or Vista
     
  6. Andy98765

    Andy98765
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,365
    I am running two PC's now with Vista Premium 64bit OEM and do not have any problems at all.
    But just check if any old equipment you may have needs upgrading to suit Vista, I overlooked a Canon Scanner I have.
    With the power supply in the Antec I would suggest going for a 4800 or 5000 X2 processor, it comes with a stock fan which is very quiet. The PC I am writing this on is the ATX version of the Motherboard I have suggested to you, talking HDMI to a Hanns.G HDMI monitor HG216D.
    Fitted with a 5000X2 AMD processor
    2x2Gig Kingston Value DDR2 6400 memory.
    2x250Gig harddrives configured in Raid 1 for reliability.
    Fitted with a Freeview TV card which runs excellent in Media Centre.
     
  7. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    going to order this tomorrow

    Antec NSK1380 Black/Silver MATX Cube Case - With 350W PSU
    Kingston 2GB Kit (2x1GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 Memory Non-ecc CL5 Unbuffered 1.8V
    Gigabyte GA-MA69GM-S2H AMD 690G Socket AM2 Onboard VGA 8 channel audio mATX Motherboard
    AMD Athlon 64 X2 5000+ Socket AM2 2.6GHz Energy Efficient L2 1MB (2x512KB) Cache Retail Boxed Processor

    i think i'll start off running the 64bit version of XP & look to upgrade to Vista in the future

    thanks for your help :smashin:
     
  8. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    well, it's all built & been up & running for almost a week now.
    very please with the outcome & it's more than enough for my needs. decided to stick with 32bit XP as I'd used Vista on a friends machine & couldn't get on with it

    thanks for all the help guys :smashin:
     
  9. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,184
    I am thinking of getting that case and psu. I only have two HDD's, one DVD, Athlon 63 3700 and 2GB of RAM. There is also a pci usb card and a internal usb card reader. Do you think that 350w will cope with all that?

    edit. Looks like it doesn't a 3.5" drive slot at the front for the card reader. :(
     
  10. abraxus

    abraxus
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,633
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +216
    The psu should be fine.

    I have the NSK1300 case which only has a 300w psu and I have an E6600 core2duo processor, an ati 2600xt graphics card, 2gb ram, 3 x hard drives, a tv tuner card and a blu ray drive.

    I'd be interestec to know from those who have the 1380 how quite the psu is as the one in the 1300 is not what you'd call silent.
     
  11. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    i can't say i've actually noticed the fan noise
     
  12. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32
    don't quote me on this but i think i remember a slot inside the case when i was setting it all up. seems as though the facia covers it though. if i am right i suppose you could cut out the facia in order to fit a card reader.

    i'll probably have it open next week to install a diff CPU cooler (i've become obsessed with temps now) so i'll let you know
     
  13. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
    KingEdward is right, I am currently building a small Windows Home Server using one of these (my thread is here:http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=698319

    There is a slot, but you'd have to be a bit braver than me to cut the fascia, maybe someone who has done this could drop a few hints here. - see photos below.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,184
    Nice pics and nice case. I wouldn't be brave enough to cut the fascia on a new case. Was is easy to put the board in?

    I currently have a Aspire(Apevia now) X Q-PAK and the psu is playing up (booting up probs). I am currently looking at replacing the whole case as the psu is smaller than ATX despite being sold as ATX and no one sells a psu that fits. Atm, the Q-PAK 2 looks good but hard to find in stock. My only requirement is a black and silver micro atx case with a proper ATX psu and a 3.5" slot on the front.

    I might be able to do without the reader. Is that two USB Headers for the two front USB's in the pic? If so, the card reader wouldn't have a socket to plug in anyway.

    Where did you get the Antec case from?
     
  15. KingEdward

    KingEdward
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    285
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +32

    board was easy enough to fit. i attached most of the components first, but would recommend waiting until the board is in place to fit the cpu fan.
    i bought mine from ebuyer http://www.ebuyer.com/product/140118
     
  16. Andyclockwise

    Andyclockwise
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2003
    Messages:
    129
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +13
  17. tinners

    tinners
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Bucks
    Ratings:
    +242
  18. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    27,745
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,184
    Thanks. That is a good price. I found it in stock at Dabs for £70 with postage.

    I ending up ordering the Q-PAK II case when it was out of stock with no date when they were coming in. I was expecting to cancel it but now they are in stock and looks like my order is going through. My only concern is the cover is supposed to be flimsy but it isn't like the cover is going to be on and off all the time.

    The board is already in use so the cpu and memory is already attached and is why if possible, I wanted another case with a pull out motherboard tray.
     

Share This Page

Loading...