Building a new high-end computer

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by mcheetham, Aug 2, 2006.

  1. mcheetham

    mcheetham
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighouse
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. This is my first time using a message board so please don't flame me if I do something wrong. I'm building a new computer with some birthday money I'm getting for my 21st, and I'm after a bit of advice. I've come up with the following proposed specs:

    Lian-Li PC60 silver case
    Enermax 600W PSU
    Asus Crosshair mobo
    Athlon 64 X2 5000+ AM2 CPU
    G skill 2GB DDR2 800 (dual-channel kit) HZ CAS4
    2 x 150GB Raptor in RAID-0
    Sound Blaster X-Fi elite pro sound
    Gigaworks S750 speakers
    Logitech G7 mouse and G15 keyboard
    NEC DVDRW drive
    I have about £500 budget for a screen - any suggestions?

    Are there any things in the list you would change for anything else? or anything which isn't compatible with anything else?

    Finally, does anyone know where I can get the 5000+ AM2 processor at the moment? nowhere in the UK seems to have it in stock.

    Thanks.
     
  2. sbowler

    sbowler
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Leeds
    Ratings:
    +481
  3. HCK

    HCK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +125
    Could I suggest A 3rd Raptor as a single Sytem drive then a RAID0 stripe for all your data which will make things fly.
     
  4. mcheetham

    mcheetham
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighouse
    Ratings:
    +0
    Actually, I was thinking of having a raptor stripe for my os, then getting a 500gig caviar as a data storage disk. would you recommend only having a single disk setup for the os?

    also, I forgot to mention a graphics card in my list:

    MSI GeForce 7950GX2
     
  5. HCK

    HCK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2002
    Messages:
    774
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    West Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +125
    That would work. If you had it all on a stripe and you lost the stripe then everything would be lost if you had no back up solution.

    I think the 150GB raptors peak at about 90mb/s read, which is quick for a single drive. I think on a raid stripe they peak at 145-150MB/s, Its really up to you....do some research on google on the raptors and see what the benchmarks are.

    I have a 74gb raptor a system drive a 2x WD 160GB SATA2 on RAID 0 stripe, with all my games, pagefile etc on my stripe.

    Hope this helps.
     
  6. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Transfer rate for Single Raptor is around 65MB/s, for three it would be 195MB/s, which is past the 150MB SATA 1 limit, so would not be ideal...pretty much a wast of money..., I think 1 150GB raptor for a windows drive is more than enough, if you want to raid two of them then Raid two 74GB's, just trying to save money, right now I have a single 74Gb raptor for windows drive, and I have 40GB free, and have xp and office and a few utilities on it and 7 games..so ideally one would not need more than 150GB...for their windows drive...
     
  7. meansizzler

    meansizzler
    Banned

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    7,892
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    104
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +343
    Ok read above for hard drive, now forget the xfi elite pro are you really going ot use them inputs and outputs?, save the case and get an extreme version for £75 or at the most the fatality version...

    Well don't know about the Cpu but the Core 2 Duo E6600 will beat that X2500 on stock speeds and is about £250, currently the best Cpu ofr Value and performance...what most people are getting, and if you get any Intel 975X mobo like the Asus P5W then you get Dolby Digital Live Audio built in, so if you have a seperate amp you won't need the X-Fi soundcard...

    Stick with the G7 Mouse it's great...

    For Optical Drive why not get an LG H10

    PSU semes fine....althoguh a 500Watt one will do...

    For a case a Lian Li PC&+ is highly recommended by alot of users, but I recently got a Coolermaster Ammo, which I think is great, especially if you are using a cooler like Thermalright SI-120 as it has side air vents...
     
  8. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,438
    The new Intel Core 2 Duos are supposed to be able to wipe the floor with all the AMD range, so if you're looking for the ultimate, I'd be tempted to go that way.
    I would never bother with RAID0, as it's debatable how much performance increase you will get and then big drawback is that you are doubling your chances of losing everything.... if one of the drives goes down you lose it all.
     
  9. Jamesy_UK

    Jamesy_UK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    430
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    Single raptor as system drive with 2 sata2 drives if your bent on raid0 but i wouldnt recommend it.
     
  10. booyaka

    booyaka
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    11,123
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    .
    Ratings:
    +3,655
    personally would defo consider the Conroe range of cpu's - will destroy anything that AMD currently have.

    The E6600 chip is the sweet spot of the range. (intel)

    Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard

    G.Skill 2GB DDR2 HZ PC2-6400 (ram)

    Most other stuff is fine but would consider as above -

    One raptor for the OS and would personally not bother with RAID. Too much hassle if you lose one drive - get the new Seagate 320GB drives - they are almost as fast as the raptor in single SATA mode.

    Raid is to much hassle with very little actual increase in performance.

    As for a monitor - the new Dell Ultrasharp 2407WFP 24" Widescreen LCD Monitor is on offer this week @ £539 (plus vat) with overclockers.

    The saving you will make on just one raptor can go towards the monitor!!:D

    Also with the 7950GX2 also consider the X1900XT (ATI) and just overclock it.
     
  11. mcheetham

    mcheetham
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Brighouse
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks for all the advice.
    Is that dell monitor really as good as overclockers makes it out to be? I've read a couple of reviews which say its response is a little slow for games and movies.
     
  12. StumpyMcDonut

    StumpyMcDonut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    in terms of the screen, id go for the samsung syncmaster 245b - ive got a 226bw which is fantastic - it has great response times and the price for the 245b is just over 300 quid, and i imagine you could use the extra cash to upgrade another part

    EDIT: the 226bw has a 2ms response time, and great colours for gaming and costs 180 quid - you could use the saved money to splash out on a bfg 8800GTX video card

    if you do go for a bigger screen id reccomend getting a faster video card if you are planning to play games, or overclock one at least - they can struggle at the high resolutions
     
  13. Uridium

    Uridium
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    14,434
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    North West Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +1,855
    That thread is 14 months old. I think the OP had probably long since ordered built and upgraded it again LOL
     
  14. StumpyMcDonut

    StumpyMcDonut
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    >.< loaded it while cycling through pages for advice, didnt think to check the date - mustve left the tab open when i went to look for new threads XD
     
  15. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    23,016
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,152
    Lol - you should cut and paste the response into the PC Graphics forum, seems a waste otherwise! :laugh:
     
  16. wormvortex

    wormvortex
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2005
    Messages:
    5,767
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    South of Heaven
    Ratings:
    +443
    bloody hell dude how far do you go back. I normally stop on the 2nd page if I even go that far:eek:
     
  17. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +600
    i was just thinking as i read the first post, wow, why is he going for such an outdated chip if he wants a good setup.....then realised the date...lmao
     

Share This Page

Loading...