1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Building a HTPC but what Cable should I use to link it to my TV?

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by 9761, Jul 19, 2005.

  1. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi,

    Im building a HTPC to use with my Toshiba 32ZP48P TV.

    Im not botherd about audio cables as Ive got optical out on the motherboard but whats the best way to connect HTPC to my TV through the Graphics card?

    Its a 9800Pro.

    Ive found places that sell VGA > Component, S-Video > Scart and VGA > Scart. But what would give me the best results?

    thanks!
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    i would see if there is component output option for GFX card, if not the a RGBHV>RGBS Scart adapter is probably best
     
  3. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    How do I find that out please?
     
  4. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Just found this:
    # MPEG-2 decoding with motion compensation, iDCT and color space conversion
    # All-format DTV/HDTV decoding
    # YPrPb component output*
    # Adaptive de-interlacing and frame rate conversion
    # Dual integrated display controllers
    # Dual integrated 10-bit per channel 400 MHz DACs
    # Integrated 165 MHz TMDS transmitter (DVI 1.0 compliant and HDCP ready)
    # Integrated TV Output support up to 1024x768 resolution

    got it from ATi's website about my card
     
  5. jon stallard

    jon stallard
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    "# YPrPb component output*"

    What does the asterix mean against this? Be a good idea to find out. I tried to connect to a TV (LCD) from a MCE2005 HTPC using component and it was brilliant except for one thing. The copyright protection (is it macrovision?) kicked in on some DVD's and prevented me from watching them (using an nvidia 6600GT card). It is possible this will happen and if it does you'll have to resort to either using VGA to SCART convertor (assuming svideo isn't good enough) or possibly install anyDVD as I beleive that disables the protection but that might be out of date info so check first.

    Either way, there's loads of threads if you do a search of this forum. That's not meant to be patronising BTW, just that by doing a search, it's like opening the curtains in a darkened room on a bright sunny morning!
    Usually:)

    Jon.
     
  6. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    ithink you need a "dongle" for component out so there is your answer
     
  7. 9761

    9761
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2005
    Messages:
    499
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    it says you have to buy a DVI adapter which is only sold by ATi which allows you to switch to Component. its around $29.99 I think.

    you can get a VGA adapter but that only works on ATi 8500 series
     
  8. Skunkpipe

    Skunkpipe
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    you can get the dongle in the uk. www.froogle.co.uk for 'dvi component adapter' should help
     

Share This Page

Loading...